Three Weeks of Cross Training

Well, I made it to the other side of three weeks without running.  I stuck to my plan of following my 10 mile race training with easy mileage on the elliptical and workouts on the stationary bike, though it’s tricky to figure out how to translate running effort to the bike.  So I ended up with workouts like 10 x 2 minute sprints instead of 10 x 400m @ 5K pace and 35 minutes of harder-than-easy-pedaling instead of a 35 minute tempo.  I finished all of my bike sessions extremely sweaty, so I hope that means I did something right…?

Since I don’t have much running to report I thought I’d make the rest of this post a round-up of other things I’ve been seeing/doing/enjoying.

TV

The three seasons (sorry, “series”) of The Great British Baking Show on Netflix have been my savior for the past few weeks.

1472028857-mary-berry

I download 1-2 episodes on my iPad before I head to the gym and then tell myself to pedalpedalpedal hard until the Victoria sponges are out of the oven.  I’m nearly done with the third season, which means I rather desperately need a new Netflix show to watch!

All of my other current TV shows are ones I watch with my boyfriend:

  • Last Week Tonight (one of the few things keeping me sane these days)
  • Bob’s Burgers
  • The Americans
  • Feud: Bette and Joan— I love the idea of this show but after three episodes it seems very uneven.  Boyfriend and I saw Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? a few years ago, so I went into this knowing about the movie and the offstage drama.  I think it would be a bit weird to watch the show without seeing the movie and apparently the writers felt the same way because there was a ton of exposition in the first two episodes (e.g. here’s special guest star Catherine Zeta-Jones as Olivia de Havilland explaining studio contracts!).

But then there are scenes like this that are, to quote Mary Berry, sheer perfection:

giphy

#goals

Movies

I’ve been to the Alamo Drafthouse a lot over the past few months but most of the movies I saw were older.  They showed all of Hayao Miyazaki‘s films in February; even though the movies we saw were all rewatches for me, it was cool to see them subtitled vs. dubbed.  The only newer releases I’ve seen are Jackie (okay), La La Land (loved the music and the production design and the pretty dresses), and Moonlight (completely amazing and I’m writing this post in part so I have a platform to tell more people to see it).

Books

Not gonna lie– I’ve been in a reading rut this month.  I started reading Who Killed These Girls?which is about a brutal local crime from the early 90s.  But I lost interest about halfway through (probably because I already know how the court proceedings will turn out) which means I wasn’t very motivated to keep reading and then I had to return the book to library before I finished.  I’m on the wait list again but I’m not sure I’ll follow through with checking it out when it’s available.  Since I have a finite amount of time and literally hundreds of books on my to-read list, I’m trying to be better about quitting books I’m not enjoying.

I’m currently ready The Romanovs: 1613-1918.  It’s quite good if you’re interested in Russian history– goodness was there a lot of poisoning and beheading and torturing back in the day!– but it’s quite hefty (over 600 pages).  I think I need to switch to some lighter fiction after this one.

Gear

I’ve had a Running Warehouse gift card sitting around for nearly a year.  Since it’s starting to get hot here in TX I decided to use it on some sleeveless shirts.  I also decided I’d be more motivated to go to the gym if I had a fun new shirt to wear.  I bought four shirts and ended up keeping two.

janji_1914_copy_2000x2000

Janji Ombre Longsleeve (doesn’t seem to be available at Running Warehouse anymore)

I hadn’t heard of Janji before I embarked on my shirt quest but I’ll be stalking their shirts in the Running Warehouse sale section from now on.  I love both of these even though I won’t be able to wear the long sleeved shirt outside until, oh, eight months from now.  The prints are fun and 10% of each sale goes to charity.

These two were utter failures:

The arm holes on the first one are really low– my entire sports bra was exposed– and the second shirt was so long it completely covered my running shorts.  (I’m 5’6″, so usually I don’t have issues with shirts being too long.) It’s been awhile since I’ve bought new running shirts, so perhaps there’s a super long shirt trend that I’ve missed out on…?  At any rate, 2 out of 4 isn’t bad, and hopefully I can use my refund on another fun print Janji top.

And speaking of running

Today I went out for a 2 mile test run, which was very slow but completely pain-free!  Even so, I’ve already gone ahead and deferred my Broad Street entry to 2018.  I want to remove any temptation to start training too quickly, especially since I have other goal races this year.  I’m going to alternate some short (2-3 mile) runs with cross training days and very gradually build in more running.  I’m not sure yet whether I’ll run a 5K in April as planned but– assuming I remain injury free– I will definitely run a few other 5Ks this spring/summer to help gauge fitness before the Reykjavik Half.

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Gear, Injury, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

