Houston Marathon Training – Week 3

I ran a little over 42 miles last week, which was a first for me early in a training cycle.  Usually in half marathon training I will peak around 40-45 miles a few weeks before a race.  But right now I’ve completed less than 20% of my training plan!

I’m really glad that I kept my mileage around 40 miles per week over the summer.  This week was tough due to two workouts but the actual number of miles I ran wasn’t a challenge.  For that I think I can partially thank all of the miserably hot and slow miles I ran from June to August.  I’m not confident about my ability to run a fast 8K on October 2nd but I feel pretty good about being able to grind out 20+ miles total on little sleep for Cap to Coast.

The plan:

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-8-51-47-pm

The execution (spoiler– I did not follow the schedule at all):

Monday, 12-Sep: I usually work from home on Monday, which makes it a good day for running.  But my schedule was thrown off from the start with a 7:00 AM meeting, which meant no AM run for me.  So I rested and did some yoga in the afternoon.

Tuesday, 13-Sep: 6 miles easy

Wednesday, 14-Sep: I fully intended to do this workout on the track.  However, I did not sleep well at all on Tuesday night and was wide awake before 4:00 AM.  I decided to hit the treadmill at a super early hour since I was already awake and knew I would start to get hungry and tired later in the morning. I ran 7.5 miles total:

  • 1 mile warm up
  • 4 x 1600m @ 10K effort (7:30, 7:30, 7:24, 7:24) with 400m recovery
  • 1 mile cool down

All things considered this was fine, though I am not sure how easily I’d hit those paces on the track, especially with the current heat and humidity.  Also did some yoga at night.

Thursday, 15-Sep: Doubles day.  5 easy in the morning, 6 easy in the afternoon– 11 miles total.

Friday, 16-Sep: Rest because tired and early meeting at the office.

Saturday, 17-Sep: I got up early and met up with some folks from my running group who were planning on 10+ miles.  I figured I would run 9 easy and then drop off.  This is easy to do on our usual route; however, on Saturday everyone wanted to run a different route with more hills, which was concerning since I had a track workout planned the next day.  The run ended up being much less disastrous than it could have been.  The pace (~10 min/mile) felt very easy and it was fun to run a new route even if we got lost and accidentally ran down a smelly alley trying to find our way back to the trail.  We ran up the massive hill on 15th Street– which is around mile 12 on the Austin Half Marathon course– and the hill did not feel bad at all when I was not 12 miles into a half marathon and trying to hold onto a sub-8:00 minute pace.  I ended up running 9.56 miles— not too much more than this week’s prescribed long run– and felt like I had a lot of energy left at the end.

Sunday, 18-Sep:  Since Track Sunday was such a success last week I decided to try it again this week.  I was a little worried about how my legs would feel after nearly 10 miles the day before but I don’t think that was an issue at all since I made sure to keep my easy effort on Saturday easy.  I aimed for 800m repeats in 3:35 and 400m repeats in 1:45 or faster.  Aside from the first 800m repeat I was pretty much on pace:

  • 1 mile easy
  • 6 x 800m @ 5K effort with 400m recovery (3:41, 3:36, 3:32, 3:34, 3:35, 3:35)
  • 800m easy
  • 4 x 400m @ ~7:00 minute/mile pace with 200m recovery (1:44, 1:45, 1:46, 1:43)
  • 1.1 mile easy

Total of 8.18 miles per my Garmin.  Total of 2 breakfast tacos post-workout.  That’s why I hope to keep Track Sunday around.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Houston Marathon Training – Week 3

  1. Angela says:

    I agree, my current marathon cycle has been MUCH more manageable after keeping my summer “off season” mileage fairly high (for me). It makes a big difference!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Almost There | Rungry

Leave a Reply

