Houston Marathon Training – Week 2

I survived Week 2 of 20.  I’m 10% done!

This week I hit the track (twice!) for the first time in several months.  I was nervous about how much slower I’d gotten since the spring, so I mostly ran both workouts by effort.  Both times I was definitely off PR pace but not nearly as slow as I’d expected.  So that was very encouraging.

I had to make some adjustments towards the end of the week due to my work schedule.  I did all of the runs in my training plan but everything was completely out of order.  Week 3 will be a similar scenario.  I am not too concerned about this at the moment since I’m not really doing long runs every weekend, so running a track workout on a Sunday (like I did today) is pretty feasible.  Hopefully by Week 5 (first double digit run) I will have a little more flexibility during the week.

It hasn’t been nearly as hot as it was in July/August (highs in the upper 80s/low 90s) but I don’t like that I have less and less daylight in the morning.  I am counting down the days (56!) until Daylight Savings ends on November 6th.

Here is Week 2 of my training plan:

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-10-50-31-am

And here is how it actually went down:

  • Monday, 05-Sep: I decided to do one of the track workouts on Monday since I figured I would have the track mostly to myself early in the morning on Labor Day.  That was definitely the case.  I also decided to start off with the 800m repeats (Thursday’s workout in the plan) since  running fast for 800m at a time felt less daunting than 1600m repeats.  I ran every repeat by effort and didn’t look at my watch until I hit the lap button at the end of 800m.
    • Warm-up: 1.19 miles (i.e. mileage to the track + strides)
    • 5 x 800m @ 5K effort (3:29, 3:34, 3:35, 3:37, 3:37) with 400m recovery
    • Cool-down: 1.03 miles easy running back home
    • Total of 5.74 miles

I felt slow and was honestly expecting every repeat to be around 3:45-4:00.  While getting progressively slower was not part of the plan, I was surprised after every repeat that “5K effort” was not too far off my pace the last time I really tried to race a 5K (which happened back in February, if memory serves me).  These paces also aren’t too shabby when I consider that I was running in high 70s with high humidity.  Next time I’ll aim for more consistency.

After my track workout I ate a quick breakfast and headed out for our annual group trip to the Schlitterbahn.  It was a fun but exhausting day.

  • Tuesday, 06-Sep: Rest
  • Wednesday, 07-Sep: 5.32 miles easy in the morning + 6 miles easy in the afternoon = 11.32 miles.
  • Thursday, 08-Sep: Rest
  • Friday, 09-Sep: I ended up doing Sunday’s tempo miles on Friday afternoon on the treadmill due to scheduling.  I also ended up running a bit slower than the pace in the plan but that was probably for the best given that I had a second track workout this week.
    • 1 mile easy
    • 5 miles @ 8:00 pace
    • 1 mile easy
    • Total of 7 miles

While I am still on a mission to limit my treadmill running (especially for faster paces), I do appreciate that the treadmills at my gym have individual TVs with cable.  I do not have cable TV at home, so the gym is my opportunity to indulge in true crime TV.

I was quite nervous about how these 1600m repeats would go.  I ran the first one entirely by effort and thought I was running around 8:00 minute pace.  I was very surprised when I hit the lap button!  On the second repeat I tried to maintain the same effort and checked my watch at 800m.  On the third repeat I wanted to try to run a little harder, so I checked my watch at 400m, 800m, and 1200m (which is what I usually do when I’m trying to hit a certain pace during 1600m repeats).

  • 1 mile warm up with strides
  • 3 x 1600m @ 10K effort (7:32, 7:33, 7:28) with 800m recovery
  • 1 mile cool down
  • 6 miles  total

As extra motivation for getting up early and running hard, I promised myself (and my boyfriend) that I would stop at Tacodeli for breakfast tacos on the way home.  I’m hoping I can keep Track Sunday going for another week or two.  Having the track to myself and then eating a delicious breakfast is quite a treat.

Total mileage: 36.81 miles

Aside from my concerns about scheduling and pacing, this was a good week.  Both track workouts were great confidence boosters.  I’m also enjoying having two days off from running since I’m doing two easy runs in one day as preparation for Cap to Coast.  I don’t think I will continue running doubles after the relay race  but it’s nice for now.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Houston Marathon Training – Week 2

  1. Angela says:

    Ah, Schlitterbahn! I haven’t been there since high school.

    Nice week 2!

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      Yeah, I may be a bit old for Schlitterbahn, especially as a non-parent. We spent the better part of the afternoon sitting around in the wave pool and lazy river 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Houston Marathon Training – Week 3 | Rungry

Leave a Reply

