May Miles

Hello Internet.  Yes, it’s been awhile (again).  Since I’m not in training mode at the moment, I haven’t been inspired to write very much.  Also, May was a pretty crazy month thanks to work and travel.  My running has not been very consistent for the past two weeks (more on that in a minute) but I ran a decent number of miles overall:

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 10.24.19 AM

I more or less followed the weekly schedules from RunCoach.  I averaged 35-40 miles per week, which has been pretty standard for me over the past few months.  I’ve been running 5-6 days per week with 1 or 2 days of speed work.  Speed work at the moment usually consists of some harder 800-1600m 5K-10K pace repeats or running a few miles at half marathon effort.  I’m definitely running fewer race pace miles than I was during 10 mile/half marathon training but I think that’s fine right now.  Right now I want to focus more on getting my average weekly mileage to 40-45 miles; adding more speed work on top of that seems like a recipe for injury.

I am trying to keep doing one double-digit (10-15 mile) run on the weekends.  I’m continuing to do most of my weekend runs with a running group, which has really helped with getting me out the door earlier on days when I’m tempted to sleep in.

My running got a bit derailed over the last week and a half because we were in West Palm Beach and Miami from May 26th-31st for my brother’s wedding.  It was a very fun but very exhausting long weekend!  I managed two 4 mile runs by the water in West Palm.  The scenery was beautiful but there was no shade and it was already 85 degrees at 8 AM!  I’m used to very hot Texas summers by now but I’m also used to early morning runs with a bit of shade and temperatures in the 70s.

IMG_2336

Florida running

After 5 days of late nights, eating out, drinking, and minimal running, I was looking forward to getting back into a workout routine.  On Tuesday afternoon I overeagerly decided to get back to lifting weights…and pulled a muscle by my right knee while doing some warm up goblet squats with a 35 lb weight.  I felt still feel embarrassed about it because it was stupid and I should know by now that I need to be more careful with my form.  I iced it and tried running on Wednesday (Global Running Day) but didn’t feel quite right and quit after one mile.  I think I actually ran more on Global Running Day back in 2014 when I was still recovering from a stress fracture!  So, that was dumb and sucky but a few days of ice and rest seem to have done the trick.  I ran 6 very easy miles today without any discomfort, so hopefully I can really get back to regular running now.

My race calendar is pretty sparse right now.  I’m considering Maudie’s Moonlight Margarita Run on Thursday, June 9th just because the location is super convenient.  I had a miserable time at that race last year but the weather may be a little cooler this week and also, it’s super convenient.  I’m also considering running the Freedom “5K” again on July 4th even though I can’t find any indication that the course is USATF certified this year.  So I suspect I would again run 2.9 or 3 miles instead of 5K but at least I’d get a decent workout without having to drive very far.

This entry was posted in Life, Running, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May Miles

  1. Pingback: Books of 2016 (Q2) | Rungry

Leave a Reply

