Week 1 of Summer “Training”

I don’t think I will recap every single run from this summer here.  Since I’m not in full training mode right now, I think that would be boring even for me.  But I want to write about my first week of Operation Maintain Current Fitness because a few notable things happened.

Monday, 18-Apr: Rest.  Nothing new here.

Tuesday, 19-Apr: My first speed work since the Statesman 10K.  I don’t feel like this was a big fitness breakthrough or anything but it was reasonably challenging:

  • 1.5 mile warm-up
  • 4 x 200m @ 6:27 pace with 200m recovery
  • 400m easy
  • 1.5 miles @ 8:00 pace
  • 400m easy
  • 4 x 200m @ 6:27 pace with 200m recovery
  • 1.5 mile cool down

Total of 7 miles

Wednesday, 20-Apr: 4 miles easy in horrible afternoon heat and humidity

Thursday, 21-Apr: Progression run

  • 1.5 mile warm-up
  • 1 mile in 8:11, 1 mile in 8:00, 1 mile in 7:41
  • 1.5 mile cool down

Total of 6 miles

Friday, 22-Apr: I worked from home on Friday and I didn’t have any teleconferences first thing in the morning, so I got up a little earlier than usual and ran 4 miles.  It was fantastic– so much better than Wednesday’s run.  I decided this week that I’m retiring from afternoon running for the next 6 months unless I’m on a treadmill or a surprise “cold front” moves in and it’s not 80+ degrees after work.  Unfortunately, it’s just too hot now.

Saturday, 23-Apr: My long run day, per Run Coach, called for 13-14 miles.  I aimed for 13 since this would be my longest run since 3M in January.  The first 8 miles were fine but then the heat really got to me and I felt horrible.  If I hadn’t been running on a big loop I probably would have stopped and called it a day.  I checked the weather when I got home and apparently the temperature shot up 15 degrees over the course of the ~2 hours I was outside!  I finished the 13 miles but it was brutal.  As I struggled through the last few miles I thought a lot about the temperatures at the Boston Marathon last week, which seemed to understandably pose a challenge for many runners.  I also thought about how I will have to run 13 miles x 2 (+ 0.2) if I run a marathon.  Yikes.

Sunday, 24-Apr: Back in January I mentioned that one of my goals for this year was to join a running group.  (Let’s not discuss my strength training goal at this time, okay?).  I signed up with a group a few months ago but found it hard to coordinate my half marathon/10 mile training with the scheduled runs.  But since I’m a bit more flexible with my training right now, it seemed like as good a time as any to try something new.  This is a social group, so the runs are generally 3-7 miles at whatever pace is conversational for each pack.  Which was great because after my tough 13 miler I knew I needed a short, easy recovery run on Sunday.  I was a bit nervous about this run since it’s been ages since I’ve run with other people and I’m pretty introverted.

The good news is that I had a great time running with other people and will definitely keep showing up to these runs.  Everyone was super friendly!  Why did I wait so long to do this?!

The (sort of) bad news is that, in my infinite wisdom, I forgot that I would be running to/from the meeting point, which adds a little over 3 miles to the group run mileage.  And then I accidentally ran with some people who were doing 5 miles instead of the 4 I’d planned.  So I ended up with 8.3 miles for the day.  The pace was very easy and the conversation made the miles fly by but my legs were definitely tired afterwards.

Total mileage for the week: 42.3

There were a number of “firsts” this week:

  • First group run!
  • First 13 mile run since 3M
  • First week over 40 miles since January (at least)

My body’s feeling pretty good but I may scale back the mileage a bit this week anyway.  I didn’t do a great job of stretching/foam rolling this week which is bad because I know I really need to stay on top of the injury prevention work if I want to increase my mileage.  It was a good week overall though, and it was nice to end on a high note with the group run.  I’m really looking forward to more of them!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 1 of Summer “Training”

  1. Pingback: May Miles | Rungry

Leave a Reply

