Summer Training Plans

In my last post I revealed that my next goal race is the Houston Marathon in January 2017.  It’s too early to start really training for that race but I want to maintain the endurance and speed gains I’ve made over the past few months.  In May-July 2015 I averaged less than 30 miles per week.  There were very legitimate reasons for that– I wasn’t in training mode, I started a new job, I was out of town a few times.  But this year I want to do a bit better:

  • Average 40 mpw
  • One double digit (10-15 mile) long run per week
  • 1-2 workouts per week

This is basically identical to my training leading up to the 3M Half Marathon except I’m backing off a bit on the the intensity of the workouts for now.  I want (and probably need) a break from the really tough workouts.  3 x 400m/800m/1200m supersets are extremely effective for me but they’re also extremely hard.

I decided to enlist RunCoach again to help me in my quest to stay in shape this summer.  My previous experience with RunCoach was a bit of a mixed bag.  It doesn’t seem to have changed too much in my absence.  (I’m doing the cheapest plan again– I still can’t justify more than $19.99/month on top of a gym membership).  As before, it yelled at me when I switched my long run last weekend to an easy run day due to impending thunderstorms:

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 5.02.51 PM

EXCLAMATION POINT OF SHAME

But what I like about RunCoach– and the reason I went back to it– is the workouts are typically easier than when I’ve found in most training plans.  Since I am trying to maintain vs. build speed (and also avoid injury) right now, I am happy with the easier workouts.  The prescribed weekly mileage and long runs are also pretty much in line with my goals for the summer.

The calendar currently has runs scheduled all the way up to the marathon in January.  I don’t know if I will continue with Run Coach for my marathon training or use a more traditional training plan.  But I think it will be helpful for keeping my momentum going during the rest of the spring and summer.

This was last week (my first week back with RunCoach).  It was a  bit atypical since I had just raced two weekends in a row, so I ran nothing but easy miles.  Aside from some nasty heat and humidity on Friday, I felt good.

Monday, 11-Apr: Rest

Tuesday, 12-Apr: Rest

Wednesday, 13-Apr: 6.28 miles

Thursday, 14-Apr: 6 miles

Friday, 15-Apr: 6 miles

Saturday, 16-Apr: 11.17 miles

Sunday, 17-Apr: 5.35 miles

Total: 34.8 miles

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Training Plans

  1. Angela says:

    Houston is on my marathon bucket list! I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts (y’know, 8 months from now….).

    Like

  2. Pingback: May Miles | Rungry

Leave a Reply

