I’ve got to admit it’s getting better

220px-getting_better_-_the_beatles_28sheet_music29

We spent so much time in the car traveling to/from Dallas a few weeks ago that we got through the majority of the Beatles catalog.

Last week was rough.  This week wasn’t perfect, but it was better.  Sometimes runs are bad because of things like injury or pneumonia.  I have run while dealing with both of those and I do not recommend it.  Those are situations when a break from running is warranted.  But sometimes I just have to keep going and trust that eventually I’ll have a good run again.

My good run finally came on Thursday.  I ran mile repeats at 10K pace on the treadmill.  Nothing in that sentence (“mile repeats”, “10K pace”, “treadmill”) generally comes to mind when I picture an ideal run.  It was a tough workout but it was the first time in awhile that I really felt strong and fast(ish).

The rest of the week was kind of a mess.  I forgot about some pre-existing evening plans in the middle of the week and ended up doing all of my short, easy runs at the beginning of the week and then trying to do my longer, harder runs back to back Thursday-Sunday.  My legs didn’t feel too beat up after Sunday’s run, which was a pleasant surprise, but I much prefer getting some of the faster miles over and done with earlier in the week.

Monday, 15-Feb: Rest

Tuesday, 16-Feb: 3 miles easy plus lifting

Wednesday, 17-Feb: 3 miles easy

Thursday, 18-Feb: 6 miles with 3 x 1 mile @ “10K pace” (7:24, 7:19, 7:13, aka pace from my last 10K race, probable current 10K pace, goal 10K pace)

Friday, 19-Feb: 8 miles easy

Saturday, 20-Feb: 5 miles with 3 2 @ goal 10 mile race pace “why is this so hard” pace (7:56, 8:11)

Sunday, 21-Feb: 10.5 miles total with mile 5, 7, and 9 @ goal 10 mile race pace “just try to run sub-8:00” pace (7:53, 7:47, 7:59)

I’m struggling to figure out why hitting the race pace miles is so hard.  If I’m going to run sub-1:17 at my 10 mile race I will need to average around 7:40 pace.  I do not think this is a particularly lofty goal given my recent race times.  I mean, I ran a few sub-7:20 miles in a row several weeks ago in Dallas so I think it’s reasonable to believe I can do a few 7:40 miles without tremendous effort these days.  However, every time I’ve been out on the road or trail recently my legs just do not want to move fast.  I may try lengthening my warm ups a bit and adding in some more striders.  And spreading out my workouts a bit more certainly wouldn’t hurt.

But before that I’ll be tackling a 5K on Saturday.  Right now I don’t really have a goal time beyond running as hard as I can. I’m mostly just curious to see if a little bit of race day adrenaline is what I need to finally hit some faster paces.

 

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

