Back to the Grind

The 3M Half Marathon was 3 weeks ago.  After a week of minimal running I started focusing my training on the Austin 10/20 10 mile race on April 3rd.

So far things have not gone very well.

What’s most frustrating is that I’m not sure why most of my runs over the past few weeks have felt dreadful.  I have a few theories: maybe I didn’t take enough time off after 3M, maybe my fitness isn’t as good as I thought it was, maybe I’m not drinking enough water, maybe I’ve been eating too much sugar, maybe it’s because it’s hotter outside, maybe it’s because I’ve lost hours of sleep due to an upstairs neighbor blasting “The Locomotion” on repeat from 1-3 AM.

Honestly, I don’t know.  I hesitated to write this post because I’m trying to be better about not obsessing over all the little details.  I’ve had a bunch of bad runs recently but at least I’ve (mostly) hit my weekly mileage goals and done my long runs.  I know that eventually I’ll have a good run again.  In the meantime, I will try to keep chugging along and forget about all of the above except “The Locomotion” because we were super polite about that and it still went on for another hour.

lrsjd6

This is what my training has looked like so far:

Week 1:

Monday, 1-Feb: Rest

Tuesday, 2-Feb: 1 mile warm up, 4 x 800m @ 5K pace (7:08) with 400m recovery, 2000m cool down (5 miles total).

Wednesday, 3-Feb: 4 miles easy

Thursday, 4-Feb: 1 mile warm up, 3 @ goal 10 mile pace (7:32, 7:45, 7:38), 1 mile cool down (5 miles total).

Friday, 5-Feb: 3 miles easy followed by yoga.

Saturday, 6-Feb: 10.5 miles easy

Sunday, 7-Feb: 3 miles easy + overhead press and squats

Week 2:

Monday, 8-Feb: Rest (my legs were so sore after doing squats for the first time in 4 months!)

Tuesday, 9-Feb: 3 miles easy

Wednesday, 10-Feb: Rest

Thursday, 11-Feb:  1 mile warm up, 3 @ goal 10 mile pace  2 @ “what should be half marathon/marathon pace but feels like 5K pace so I’m going to quit now” pace (7:48, 8:06), 2 mile cool down (5 miles total).

Friday, 12-Feb: 5 miles easy

Saturday, 13-Feb: 10 w/3 at race pace 11.5 at easy pace because I’m tired and apparently so sleep deprived that I missed a turn and ran an extra 1.5 miles.

Sunday, 14-Feb: 4 miles easy + bench press and deadlifts.

 

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to the Grind

  1. Marie says:

    The fuck is wrong with your neighbors??

    I had a 5k that was cancelled and now I just don’t know what to do with myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy says:

    I think it is the weather…terrible runs here, too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: I’ve got to admit it’s getting better | Rungry

  4. Pingback: Austin 10/20: Last Week of Training + Race Plans | Rungry

Leave a Reply

