Recently Acquired Gear

Note: This post had been sitting in my Drafts folder for almost 2 months, so this gear is no longer “recently acquired”.  However, I’m finally posting this now because this gear is relevant to the race I ran on Sunday.  Race recap will be coming soon!

About 7 years ago I was diagnosed with Raynaud’s.  Symptoms of Raynaud’s, per the Mayo Clinic, include:

  • Cold fingers or toes
  • Color changes in your skin in response to cold or stress
  • Numb, prickly feeling or stinging pain upon warming or stress relief

I’ve been pretty cold sensitive my whole life.  Also, I’m very pale, so seeing my hands turn a little blue in the cold never really worried me.  But then I was at work one winter day in 2009 (at a poorly heated medical research center building) and my hands turned quite blue.  One of the nurses saw them and said I should get them checked out.  That, of course, freaked me out and made my blood vessels constrict further and my hands turned even bluer.

Long story short, I went to the ER and received a diagnosis of Raynaud’s.  My hands were so blue that the doctor asked me to lay my hands on a sheet of white paper so he could take a picture for the medical students. Perhaps my famous hands are in a medical textbook somewhere!

Now that I live in Texas I generally don’t need to worry too much about extreme cold.  But I do need to wear gloves on most runs when the temperature drops to about 45 F.  I have a pair of fantastic fleece gloves from Under Armour that are several years’ old (and sadly long sold out).  I love these because they have little hidden pockets where I can stash my keys. I also love that the women’s small actually fits my hands.  (Despite not being a particularly small person in general, I have really small hands.  Sometimes it’s the kids’ section for me when I’m shopping for gloves!).  The only issue with the UA gloves is that they’re quite warm.  Honestly, there are probably only a handful of low to mid 30 degree days each year when I need that much warmth.

Enter the CostCo gloves.

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 9.35.18 PM

I picked these up in October and they’ve been great for those sub-45 degree runs when I don’t need heavy fleece but I do need something on my hands if I later want to be able to turn my car key or open the front door.  The smallest size is a little big for me.  I can turn a key with the gloves the extra fabric at my fingertips makes it hard to open GU packets with my hands.  No big deal– I just use my teeth for that because I’m a lady.  I can’t speak to how well they work with touch screens since I rarely run with my phone.

My other recently acquired gear:

I had $70 worth of Rogue Running gift certificates from some age group awards at tiny 5Ks in the spring and summer and my race shoes of choice (Mizuno Wave Rider 16) were up to 350+ miles.  I took myself down to Rogue on Black Friday and ended up trying on 3 different pairs of shoes in the hopes of finding something I could break in before the 3M Half Marathon:

  • Some model of Skechers.  (I know, that’s not helpful AT ALL.  I guess that’s the problem with taking 2 months to write a blog post).  These would have been great for everyday running but the only pair they had in the store was a bit too small for me.  And of course now I’ve forgotten which model I tried :-(.
  • Brooks Ghost 8.  I ran in an older Ghost shoe back in 2013 and never liked them as much as the Wave Rider 15 or 16, which was my shoe of choice for as long as I could find pairs at Running Warehouse.  The issue with the newer Wave Riders for me is that I feel they’ve gotten thinner and aren’t ideal for more than 8 miles or trail running.  I have a pair of Wave Rider 17s that I only use for some speedwork and races up to 10K.  The Brooks Ghost 8s felt a lot like the Wave Rider 16 in that they felt supportive but still light enough for racing 13.1 miles.  After my stress fracture in 2014 my doctor told me to steer clear of minimalist shoes and to make sure I wore neutral shoes– I have EXTREMELY high arches.  I have a feeling he would have approved of these shoes.  As I write this I realize that I should sign up for a few more tiny 5Ks with cash prizes so I have an excuse to go out and buy another pair of shoes because I really liked these.
  • Adidas Supernova Glide 7 Boost. I think the last pair of Adidas shoes I’d owned prior to these were a pair of Sambas back in 1995 or 1996 because they were A Thing in late elementary school.  I would have never thought to try Adidas running shoes, which is the beauty of going to a brick and mortar store once and awhile and getting fitted.  These fit a lot like the Ghost 8s but they are more flexible thanks to the cool mesh toe box.  I’m pleased to say that I’ve put about 60 miles on them now (including Sunday’s 10K race) and they feel great.  I’m looking forward to wearing them at 3M in 10 days!
This entry was posted in Gear and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recently Acquired Gear

  1. Pingback: 2016 Rogue Distance Festival 10K Race Recap | Rungry

  2. Angela says:

    I wonder if your Costco gloves are made by ski equipment maker Head? That would explain why they are awesome gloves.

    Also if I had a bunch of tiny local 5Ks that gave out gift certificates for running gear near me I would be running them OMG every weekend!

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      They are by Head! As of for the 5Ks, a lot of them don’t indicate the prizes for age groups ahead of time. I’d be a lot more motivated to work on my 5K times if I knew ahead of time that I had a good chance of winning a gift certificate!

      Like

Leave a Reply

