Running in 2015 and Goals for 2016

I ran 1,470 miles in 2015, which I’m pretty sure is a personal record.

One of my goals for 2016 will be to hit 1,500+ miles for the year, which I probably could have done in 2015 if February and March had been more consistent.

Other highlights of the year:

  • I set 8K and 10 mile PRs.
  • I had some issues with tendonitis in February which I’ve been able to easily manage with some PT exercises like rolling a tennis ball under the arch of my foot and running on trails.  Otherwise, I’ve been injury free– a big improvement over 2014’s stress fracture!
  • I raced 8 5Ks, 2 8Ks, 2 10Ks, 1 10 miler, and 2 HMs.  Race recaps are here.  15 races in a year is definitely a record for me!
  •  I completed the Runner’s World Run Streak and will devote my next post to my thoughts on streaking.

I wore more clothes…

As far as goals for 2016 go, I don’t have very many that are clearly defined at the moment.  My January races (Rogue 10K on 10-Jan and 3M Half Marathon on 24-Jan) will help me decide what I want to focus on in the spring.  After just falling short of my sub-1:17 10 mile goal I’m tempted to train for the Austin 10/20 10 mile race on 3-Apr but I’m also considering devoting my spring to 5Ks and 10Ks.  Every year I toy with the idea of training for a marathon but I don’t think that will happen in 2016.  Honestly, I don’t have the focus right now to spend 20ish weeks training for one race.  I generally enjoyed racing a lot in 2015 and the shorter distances allow me faster training cycles and faster recovery.  Also, 26.2 miles is a lot of miles.

There are, however, a few running-related goals I definitely want to accomplish this year:

  • Consistency.  This is a somewhat nebulous goal, which means I’m probably setting myself up to fail, but basically I don’t want to have a month like this.  I fully intend to take time off after a training cycle or if I’m sick or injured (*knocks on wood*) but I really don’t want to spend months building back my fitness because I lost my momentum.  Something that I think can help me:
  • Join a running group.  Right now I do 100% of my running alone.  This can be quite nice at times but I’ve been feeling eager to expand my social circle recently and having something to keep me accountable besides Daily Mile can’t hurt.  I live closer to a lot of the running stores and popular trails in town since we moved a month ago, so I think it’s just a matter of finding the right group.
  • Strength work.  Since I still feel like a lifting newbie I usually align my strength days with my boyfriend’s schedule so he can correct my form.  He started to fall off the wagon towards the end of the year due to having tremendous amounts of work in his grad classes (which he was doing on top of a full time job).  Fortunately, boyfriend is done with classes now (!).  We still need to become members at the gym closest to our new apartment (I swear we’re doing this tomorrow!) but once that’s taken care of I hope to get back to lifting twice per week.

What are your goals for 2016?

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running in 2015 and Goals for 2016

  1. Pingback: Coming Up Next | Rungry

  2. Pingback: Week 1 of Summer “Training” | Rungry

Leave a Reply

