Run for the Water Training: Week 7 Was Heaven

This was a really good week of training.  I needed a good week after a discouraging track work out at the end of Week 6.  Some solid mileage, hitting my target paces at the track, and a PR gave me a much needed confidence boost before the last month of training.  I’m officially going for  #sub117orbust!

Monday, 9/21Rest

Tuesday, 9/226 miles easy

Wednesday, 9/235.82 miles total with 2 x 400/800/1200 meter supersets:

  • 400 meters at 20 seconds per mile faster than 5K pace (~6:50 pace)
  • 800 meters at 5K pace (~7:10 pace)
  • 1200 meters at HM pace (~7:40 pace)

Going into this I wasn’t sure that I’d have the stamina to maintain my target paces, especially after barely holding on to HM pace during a workout less than a week earlier.  I don’t know what I did differently this time but my paces were pretty on target.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 7.16.55 PM

I’m not going to lie– this was HARD for me.  Running sub-7:00 minute pace is not something I can do comfortably for very long.  Following the 400m repeats with 800m at 5K pace was difficult.  But going from 7:10ish pace to 7:40ish pace makes 7:40ish pace feel a lot more comfortable.  I am always completely worn out after running supersets but I think they’re the most effective track workouts for me.  I did a lot of 800m/1600m @ 5K/10K paces sets leading up to my big 10K PR in 2014.

Thursday, 9/24: 8.74 miles easy.  This was longer than I usually run during the week but I wanted to get in an 8+ mile run since I didn’t run long during the previous weekend   and would be racing during the upcoming weekend.  I truly kept the pace very easy (9:15 average) but pushed hard on some hills in the last few miles.  I plan on running these same hills at least once a week in preparation for the hills in the middle miles of the Run For The Water.

Friday, 9/25: 6 miles easy on the treadmill after work.  All I remember about this was that it was less boring than usual.  Maybe it was because I was eagerly anticipating caves and beer.

Saturday, 9/264 miles easy

Sunday, 9/27: 8K race + around 2 miles of warm up and cool down (7 miles total).

Total for the week: 38 miles, which I think is my highest mileage since the beginning of the year.  The best part is that I didn’t really feel it– even with the race on Sunday– but with that said, this week will probably be in the low 30s.  I don’t feel sore from the 8K but I want to make sure I’m getting adequate recovery and don’t immediately jump into 40+ mile weeks.  I feel pretty good about my endurance for a 10 mile race but I’m less sure about my stamina, so I’ll be focusing more on tempo runs than fast track work over the next few weeks. 

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

