Run for the Water Training: Week 6 Hit Me Like a Ton of Bricks

Unfortunately the “cold” spell of sub-95 degree temps and low humidity that blessed me with some glorious runs did not last.  My sixth week of training– and the halfway point in my preparation for the Run for the Water race on November 1st– was not my best week.

Monday, 9/14: A much needed day off from running but I went to the gym in the afternoon for some strength work.  In retrospect, I probably should have taken a full rest day.

Tuesday, 9/15: This was a surprisingly not terrible track workout for tired legs.  I ran 5.59 miles total with 3 x 1200m at 5K pace (5:27, 5:20, 5:21).  My lack of a decent warm up really shows in my pace for the first repeat (7:21 vs. 7:08).  Whoops.

Wednesday, 9/16:  4 miles easy on the treadmill after work.  I was up late on Tuesday night dealing with the first of many proverbial fires at work during this week, so my pre-work run ended up being a post-work treadmill run.  It was notable only in its boringness.

Thursday, 9/17: 6 miles easy before work.  My fancy new gear helped me avoid multiple decomposing squirrels in the road!

Squirrels are athletes too!

Friday, 9/18: This is where the blaaaaaaah running really started.  I woke up before 5 AM to go to the track before work, which was a good idea because I ended up having to work late but a bad idea because this just sucked.  I ran 5.85 miles total with 2 x 2400m @ 10K pace half marathon pace but it felt like 5K pace.  My legs just did not want to go faster than 7:40 pace.

Saturday, 9/19: 7 miles easy 6.42 miles easy.  I wanted to really run easy and headed to the Shoal Creek Trail.  I like doing easy runs there because the ground is a bit rugged and I’m really forced to slow down and take it easy.  Also, it’s nice and cool in the shade.  I hadn’t been to the Shoal Creek Trail in several months because part of it was closed following the massive rainfall we got in May and June.  As it turns out, multiple parts of the trail are still closed for rebuilding, so I had to turn around early and ended up doing most of this run on the street.  It was sunny and humid and basically the opposite of the bucolic run I’d envisioned for myself.

On Saturday night we went to Strange Land Brewery and I drank two strong beers before eating dinner, which led to…

Sunday, 9/20: Rest, due to general exhaustion and a slight hangover.  I skipped my “long” run of 8-9 miles  but I should be able to squeeze that in this week.  I think I was overdue for a full rest day and I did a bunch of errands and house tidying, so I wasn’t completely lazy all day.

28 miles total.  It doesn’t seem like a lot for being halfway through a training cycle, though I have to keep reminding myself that I’m not training for a half (or a full).  I do want to try to keep my weekly mileage at 30+ between now and the race though.

Speaking of races, on Sunday I’ll be toeing a start line for the first time in nearly 3 months.  Stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run for the Water Training: Week 6 Hit Me Like a Ton of Bricks

  1. Pingback: 2015 Run Free Texas 80s 8K | Rungry

  2. Pingback: Run for the Water Training: Week 7 Was Heaven | Rungry

Leave a Reply

