Run for the Water Training: Week Two is Through

As always I’m writing up last week’s training when the current week is already almost over.  Bear with me…

SEE WHAT I DID THERE?!

My mileage last week took a bit of a jump– 35 miles, which was my highest weekly mileage since late April.  This was mostly due to moving my “long” run of 7 miles from Sunday to Monday due to unforeseen circumstances on Saturday night (read: bar trivia, having a celebratory drink after winning bar trivia).

I didn’t really notice the jump in mileage– a good sign, I hope!  My legs felt a bit tired on Wednesday after the “long” 7 mile run on Monday, short run plus a strength workout (squats!) on Tuesday, and 1600m repeats on Wednesday.  But I was fine after taking Thursday off and my 9 mile run on Saturday went off without a hitch aside from the fact that it was so damn hot.  This week’s mileage will probably also be 34-35 miles and then hopefully by late September/early October I’ll be into the low 40s.

Anyway, onto the training:

Monday, 8/17: 7 miles total in 1:01:01 (8:43 pace)– first 5.5 miles at an easy pace, then 1 mile at 10 miles race pace (7:35) and 0.5 mile cool down.  Was the race pace mile too fast?  Probably so.  But I will say that that pace felt a lot easier than it did a month or two ago.  I think doing 800m repeats at 7:00 min pace three days earlier helped a lot in that regard.  7:35 pace is a breeze compared to essentially sprinting…

Tuesday, 8/18: 5 miles easy (9:09 pace) plus strength work

Wednesday, 8/19: Speed work– 5 miles in 41:16 (8:15 pace)

  • 800m warm-up
  • 3 x 1600m at 10K pace.  I aimed for 7:20-7:30 pace for these and ran them in 7:31, 7:24, 7:19 with 800m recovery between each set.  Not great in terms of consistency but at least I got faster with each repeat…?
  • 800m cool down

Thursday, 8/20: A much needed rest day

Friday, 8/214 miles easy on the treadmill after work (8:47 pace)

Saturday, 8/22: I did my long run of 9 miles on Saturday morning because I knew we were going to a birthday party later in the day and I wanted to stay up late and drink gin and eat a burger and swim in a pool with a corgi without worrying about running the next morning.  My long run was okay– neither my best or my worst this summer.  My goal was to keep my pace between 9:00-9:30 min/mile, which felt pretty easy aside from the the fact that I was drenched in sweat after 5 minutes.  I hope it starts cooling down before I really need to rethink my stance on waking up before dawn on the weekend.  Anyway, I covered 9 miles in 1:23:43 (9:18 pace) and every mile was at my target pace except mile 9 (9:37) but I will cut myself some slack there because it was mostly uphill.

Sunday, 8/235 miles easy around my neighborhood in the morning (9:04 pace).  Thankfully neither gin nor corgi  left me with a hangover.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

