Last Week Tonight

I think last week was one of the most solid weeks of training I’ve had in a long time.  I did one of the hardest speed sessions I’ve done in months and my long run actually felt good.

I’ve found that RunCoach works best for me when I switch up my schedule every week.  Right now it has all of my runs scheduled through November and assumes I’m going to always do my long runs on Saturday and take a rest day on Wednesday.  But sometimes I will do long runs on Sundays and I like to coordinate my rest days during the week with the days I have to be at work early for teleconferences with people in Europe.  (Then again, the early morning teleconferences are basically irrelevant since I’ve been doing such a piss poor job at morning running regardless of my work schedule).  Anyway, I think this week to week scheduling is the way to go, at least for the next month or so.  Sometimes RunCoach schedules an extra day off and sometimes it only gives me one day of speed work instead of the requested two.  Right now I’m just going with this.  I’m not a complete running newbie but I also don’t entirely trust myself to not go overboard, so some extra rest days and a some fewer speed sessions that I would have scheduled on my own are probably for the best at the moment.  So for the rest of the summer my weeks will probably look like this:

  • 1 or 2 days off from running
  • 2 days of strength work.  Sometimes I’ll do these on a day off and sometimes I’ll combine them with a short, easy run day.
  • 1 or 2 days of speed work (i.e. intervals or tempo)
  • 1 long run of 8-11 miles
  • Shorter easy runs on the remaining days

My weekly mileage for the summer will probably be in the 25-35 mile range, which seems low to me since I’m technically training for a 10 mile race (plus I want to run at least one half marathon this winter).  But then I remember that my 10 mile race is in November and I wouldn’t be running a half until December at the earliest, so it really doesn’t make sense to run a ton of miles right now.

This fits with my theme for this post, so just go with it.

This is what last week looked like:

Screen Shot 2015-07-12 at 12.06.17 PM

The face should really look a little happier than that.

Monday, 7/6: Easy 5 miles

Tuesday, 7/7: Easy 4 miles

Wednesday 7/8: Easy 3 miles

Thursday, 7/9: Killer treadmill workout– 1.5 mile warm-up, 12 x 200m @ 6:31 pace with 200m recovery, 1.5 mile cool down.  I am pretty sure I’ve never tried to run that fast except in the last 0.1 miles of a 5K.  Ideally I would have done this on the track but refer to exhibit A (the track seems to be kind of a mess right now) and exhibit B (waking up early is hard, yo).

I contemplated quitting this workout early several times but I’m proud to say I made it the whole way through and will hopefully be a little faster now as a result.

Friday, 7/10: Planned rest day due to early morning work meeting and then Heathers: The Musical at night.

Screen Shot 2015-07-12 at 3.28.07 PM

This was so very.  I wasn’t wowed by the music but the casting was great and the musical seamlessly works in almost all of the classic quotes.  I’m more than a little obsessed with the movie (I wore this shirt to the show on Friday) but I felt like the musical– while not quite as good as the movie– does justice to the original work.

After the performance we had a very late (after 10 PM) dinner at Kerbey Lane.  It’s summer, so lemon poppyseed pancakes are on the menu, which means I was obligated to eat a pancake the size of a dinner plate and some scrambled eggs.

Saturday, 7/11:  My boyfriend has early morning classes on some Saturdays, so I’ve been trying to do my long runs on these Saturdays since his alarm will wake me up and get me out of bed before it gets too hot outside (in theory).  I did not have high hopes for this run since my sleep and nutrition were probably less than optimal.   This was one of those times when I pretty much did everything wrong (underslept, overpancaked– technical medical terms) but my run was glorious.

I try to do any summer run longer than 6 miles at Lady Bird Lake since there are water fountains all over and I can mostly run on dirt trails.  My Garmin was set to auto pause, so my recorded pace  is a bit deceiving since I stopped at least 5 times for water and to fix my hair (not for vanity– my bun was falling apart.  Long hair plus summer running can be a bad mix).  But let’s just go with it and say that I was consistently under 9 minutes per mile (except for that nasty uphill mile in the direct sun).

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 8.05.38 PM

The best part was that my pace didn’t feel hard and I felt like I easily could have run another mile or two.  Generally, long runs in the summer are torturous for me, so this was an amazing feeling.  It also probably means that I’m due for a disastrous long run this week.

This is just here becauseI can’t stop watching the sexy chicken.

Sunday, 7/12: 3 easy miles on the treadmill and some not easy strength work (i.e. deadlifts)

tl;dr running is going well and I hope that RunCoach is helping me stay in the sweet spot between maintaining my current fitness and overtraining.

This entry was posted in Fun, Running, Strength Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Week Tonight

  1. Ben says:

    Summer is a difficult part of the year… The worst part is waking up, looking at the phone for the temp, and losing all motivation. I think all runners look forward to fall!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Morning Running | Rungry

  3. Pingback: I Love Free Food | Rungry

Leave a Reply

