Getting Back on Track

I’ve been back in Austin for almost a week and just completed my 5th day in the office at my new job.  It still feels really good to have a regular schedule!  I really like that my new job has pretty flexible work hours.  My old job had “core” hours of 9-5:30, though I’d often be there earlier or later depending on appointments.  At my new job I can start whenever and leave whenever as long as I’m getting my work done and available for teleconferences and meetings (I have a LOT of these!).  I really like this because the Gentleman’s alarm goes off at 6:20, so I’m awake by then (or earlier, if I’m running) on weekday mornings.  So if I’m at the office at 8, that usually means I can leave around 4 whereas at my old job I had to be at work until 5:30 regardless of my start time unless I had PTO or some sort of special permission.  I love having more time in the evening these days!

I took Monday off from exercise– I was feeling a little beat up from 10 miles on Sunday— but then managed to wake up early on both Tuesday and Wednesday to run before work.  I think I’m more motivated to wake up early right now because it’s the only time in the day when it’s not blisteringly hot outside.  On Tuesday I actually managed my first track workout in ages.  I did a few speed workouts in April and May but they were on the treadmill due to travel or severe thunderstorms.  (But mostly I just slacked on doing speed work on any surface…).  I kept Tuesday’s workout pretty easy– just 3 x 800m @ 5Kish pace with 400m recovery and ~1 mile warm-up/cool down— since I’ve been sick and I’ll be racing tomorrow.  Yes, I decided to go ahead with the race, which means I’ll be back with a recap on Friday assuming I don’t wilt and die in the evening heat.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 6.25.58 PM

I also went to the gym yesterday evening for some strength work (which has also fallen by the wayside during the chaos of the past few months).  I definitely felt the track workout and squats this morning during my easy 3.4 mile run.   Hopefully I’ll feel a little better tomorrow night…

Now I’m going to shift gears a bit and talk about some of my meals this week.  Don’t worry– this isn’t going to be a WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) post.  (Though for the record, we had a company picnic at work today and I had a chicken burger and fries and a brownie and a cookie and a Diet Coke #healthyliving #jerf).  But I enjoy cooking and baking and a lot of the recipes I use are from the Internet, so when I find recipes I enjoy I like sharing the wealth, if you will.  I also like doing a lot of meal prep on Sundays so that I have lunches and dinners figured out for most of the week.  Having some time this Sunday to make meals at home and get ready for the work week felt really nice after subsisting on hotel, airport, and mall food while I was in North Carolina.

Lunch for most of this week is quinoa with cucumber, tomatoes, olives, and goat cheese (similar recipe here).  I basically just stick 1 cup of quinoa and 2 cups of water in the rice cooker and chop everything while the quinoa is cooking.  So easy!

Per the Gentleman: "Your chopped food looks like a flag."  Apparently it's Malawi's flag but upside down.

Per the Gentleman: “Your chopped food looks like a flag.” Apparently it’s Malawi’s flag but upside down.

On Sunday we also made this Pasta Primavera with Sausage recipe and ended up with enough food for 4 dinners.  Good thing we liked the recipe…

2015-06-09 19.22.58

Cheese makes everything good.

Lots of leftovers probably aren’t appealing to everyone but I typically don’t mind the repetitiveness.  And while we certainly indulge in our neighborhood pizza, burger, and taco joints on a regular basis, it’s nice to have most of our meals figured out in advance.

(Full disclosure: I wrote this post while drinking a Wasatch Brewery Apricot Hefeweizen as part of my pre-race carb loading.)

This entry was posted in Food, Running, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Back on Track

  1. Ben says:

    Good luck on the warm race!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Run for the Water Training: Week 4 was not what I’d planned for, Week 5 was a mileage nosedive | Rungry

Leave a Reply

