2015 Statesman Capitol 10K Race Recap

The official results:

Screen Shot 2015-04-12 at 10.48.02 AMIf you’ve been keeping track of things here over the past year (God I can’t believe I’ve had this blog that long!), you will have noticed that I was 3 minutes slower than last year and pretty far off my goal of finishing under 47:00.  This was actually my second slowest 10K ever.

It probably goes without saying that I’m not thrilled with my time.  But I’m also not completely disappointed either.  I didn’t exactly train for this race, so it wasn’t a surprise that I couldn’t run a great time, especially considering that last year I completely focused on 10K training for the 2 months leading up to the race.  However, the one thing I think I did right today was to run by effort and adjust my pace accordingly.  When I ran the Paramount 5K back in February my first mile was 7:08 running uphill.  I’d had it in my head that my 5K pace should be 7:00-7:10, which may have been true on downhill terrain, but I definitely had not put in the hill training to be able to run an uphill 7:08 and not crash and burn afterwards (which is what happened).

My lack of hill training also came into play during the first few miles of the Statesman 10K today.  My first mile was 8:01, which was off my target of 7:45 for the first 3 miles.  That 8:01 pace felt like 10K effort though.  I was winded and sweaty (it was very humid) and felt like I was running hard but not sprinting.  So I decided to just try to stick to 8:00 minute pace and see how much I could pick it up during miles 4 and 5 (mostly downhill).  Mile 2 was 7:56 and mile 3 was 7:55.  The hills were tough and I definitely cursed myself for not running more hills and track workouts but I was also passing a decent number of people.

Miles 4 and 5 were 7:29 and 7:32.  I felt glad that I hadn’t killed myself early in the race because I felt like I had enough energy here to pick up the pace and work the downhills.  I’d hoped I could keep this pace up in mile 6 but I was beginning to get tired and it also started to rain (previously it had just been misty).  The street got a little slippery at this point and the only thing I could hear was the sound of thousands of running shoes squeaking against the pavement.  (That is not a pleasant noise).  I managed a decent kick at the end at least: 6:32 pace for the last 0.2, though I’m pretty sure I was out kicked again by a girl less than half my age.

In short, subpar training yielded a subpar finish time.  The silver lining is that I’m feeling far more determined now to really get back to the track and actually train consistently.  Work is still kind of crazy but I should still be able to get in some solid workouts if I plan ahead.  I’m signed up for a few more 5Ks this spring and am considering an 8K in May that would technically be a PR since I’ve never run an 8K.  Automatic PRs for the win, am I right?

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2015 Statesman Capitol 10K Race Recap

  1. Pingback: Reset | Rungry

  2. Pingback: Autism Speaks 8K Race Recap | Rungry

  3. Pingback: A Tale of Two 5Ks | Rungry

Leave a Reply

