Race Prep

First, a small order of business: it seems I’m having trouble commenting on Blogger posts using my WordPress account.  I’ll write a comment, verify my WordPress credentials, click publish.  Then the page will prompt me again to hit publish, I’ll click publish, and it will go back to prompting me to hit publish.  Anyone know what’s going on with this?

Now  onto running.

I managed 30 miles of easy running last week, which was pretty decent considering that I spent part of the prior weekend in the ER.  This week will probably also a 30 miler, though this time I included some mile repeats at 10K effort, which ended up being around 7:30 pace.  I also did some of my easy runs on a hillier route than usual since the first few miles of the course are mostly uphill.  I took a look at my splits from last year and I think aiming for 7:45 pace at the start is reasonable given where my fitness is now.  Hopefully I will have enough energy left after mile 3 to pick it up on the downhill portion and maybe squeak in a sub-47:00 finish.

Of course, with the way the weather is looking right now, who knows what will happen!

Screen Shot 2015-04-11 at 5.08.11 PMThus far today the weather has just been drizzly or misty, which was actually really nice for my run this morning.  Hopefully it will stay that way tomorrow morning and I won’t be electrocuted.

I drove downtown this morning to pick up my race packet.  It was surprisingly not crowded at the expo– I got in and out in under 10 minutes.  I really like the bag they gave participants this year:

2015-04-11 14.15.51

Austin got rid of plastic bags at supermarkets and most stores a few years ago.  I like that a lot of races are giving out reusable shopping bags at packet pickup– it seems like we can never have too many of these!

There were a bunch of random flyers in there, all of which ended up in the recycling except for the Whataburger coupon which I gave to the Gentleman to use when I’m on a work trip in a few weeks.  (That’s not a knock against his cooking– the man can definitely cook!– but I suspect some takeout or fast food will be in order while I’m away and he’s swamped with his end of semester grad school work).

2015-04-11 14.17.08

The shirt is an upgrade from last year in that it’s not 100% cotton but sadly, I don’t think I will get much use out of it because I’m pretty sure the color will make me look severely jaundiced.

2015-04-11 14.18.27

And yeah, I’m in corral A.  When I signed up for this race I thought I’d be running my pace from last year.  In addition to planning on running a slower pace tomorrow, I’m also planning on starting at the very back of corral A or maybe the front of corral B so I don’t get trampled by fast people.

My race prep today also involved a baking project.  I had some overripe bananas and some heavy cream that I wanted to use up, so I went to Allrecipes and used their handy ingredient searcher to find recipes with bananas and heavy cream.  I ended up making these cupcakes:

2015-04-11 16.40.24

I haven’t eaten one yet but my multiple taste tests of batter and frosting have led me to believe they will be delicious.  I also plan on finishing an open bottle of Kirkland Signature’s finest Malbec tonight.  Race prep, y’all!

This entry was posted in Food, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Race Prep

  1. Melissa says:

    Haha, I did exactly the same thing with the flyers–recycled everything but the Whataburger coupon, which I gave to the spouse. 😉 Good luck tomorrow!

    Like

  2. Angela says:

    I’ve been having the reverse problem as you – I can’t seem to get comments to appear on WordPress blogs no matter what I try. Good luck in your race!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Autism Speaks 8K Race Recap | Rungry

Leave a Reply

