3M Half Marathon: The Recovery

Let me set the tone of this post with an apt gif:

 

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s review how things have been going since I ran the 3M Half Marathon on Sunday.

First of all, I primarily refueled on Sunday with beer and loaded fries from the Alamo Drafthouse. I’ve been craving fries like whoa recently but abstained from them in the days leading up to the race since greasy foods don’t sit well in my stomach when I run hard.

On Monday morning my quads were pretty sore, which was to be expected after racing 13.1 miles on a mostly downhill course.  After 6 half marathons, I’ve learned that the best thing I can do the day after a race is run an easy 2-3 miles and then do some hardcore stretching and foam rolling.  So I took myself and my iPod to the track for some easy miles on a non-paved surface.

After about a mile my left foot started to hurt.  Specifically, it felt like I’d laced my shoe too tightly.  I stopped, re-laced, and kept chugging along…but the discomfort in the arch of my foot didn’t really subside.  When I got home I immediately started icing and researching plantar fasciitis.  I spent a good amount of the morning at work running around in not very supportive flats.  I felt an increasing amount of pain in my foot, to the point where it was becoming hard to walk.  I got some advice from reputable people at work (i.e. an MD and someone with plantar fasciitis experience) regarding stretches  and shoes (wear ones with supportive heels).

The stretches and wearing boots for the past few days have definitely helped– I can walk without any problems.  I took Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday off from exercise as a precaution (and also to drink rum and sleep in until 6:15 MUCH FANCY SUCH LUXURIES).  This morning I went to gym and knocked out 30 minutes on the elliptical without any issues (aside from boredom).  Buoyed by that success, I hopped on the treadmill and ran at an easy pace which felt…not quite right.  It wasn’t painful but it still felt uncomfortable and made me worry that further running could lead to problems.  So I quit after 1 mile and booked a doctor’s appointment for Monday morning.

I’m hoping that this is something that can be treated with some stretching and ice and not too much rest from running.  Worst case would probably be a boot if it turns out to be a fracture.  Obviously, that would massively suck, especially after spending much of 2014 rehabbing an injury and then staging what I thought was a conservative return to regular running and racing.

We’ll see…in the meantime, I’ll be spending the weekend drinking more rum based drinks, researching Super Bowl snacks, and trying not to wallow.

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Health, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3M Half Marathon: The Recovery

  1. Kevin says:

    Terrible to have injuries. I am so glad I have no experience with PF. Hope you recover quickly.

    Like

  2. Melissa says:

    My husband had (still has) plantar fasciitis. He had good luck with rolling his foot on a frozen water bottle. He also slept in some contraption that forced his toes backward, but I think the best success has been these plantar straps he got at Academy. He wears them for softball or days he’s on his feet a lot, and he says they really help. Good luck–I really feel your pain with the injuries.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Whinefest | Rungry

  4. Pingback: What’s Next | Rungry

Leave a Reply

