3M Half Marathon: Race Prep and Goals

Well– here we are!  Less than 24 hours until the 2015 3M Half Marathon.

I ended up not doing much of a taper this week, which is partly due to the fact that my mileage has overall been lower than previous half marathon training cycles.  I did make sure to get in 2 days of complete rest and got my 2 days of strength training done earlier in the week because doing squats or deadlifts the day before a race is probably not a good idea.

Monday, 1/19: REST

Tuesday, 1/20: AM: 6.02 miles with 3.74 @ HM pace (which ended up being 7:40-7:50 pace).  This felt…just okay.  PM: elliptical and strength training.

Wednesday, 1/21: 5 miles easy

Thursday, 1/22: AM: 4 miles easy on the treadmill due to an intense rainstorm outside.  I upped the pace a little every time a new song came on my iPod to prevent dying of boredom. (But honestly, 4 miles is pretty short and it was so awful outside that the treadmill was a welcome respite).  PM: elliptical and strength training.

Friday, 1/23: REST

Saturday, 1/24: 3.06 miles easy, followed by lots of stretching and foam rolling.  Two of the training programs (1 and 2) that I loosely followed over the past few months have rest days scheduled right before the race, which is something I never like doing.  I much prefer going for a short, easy run to get my legs stretched out and moving– especially after spending most of Friday sitting at my desk at work.

I also haven’t had any alcohol or Diet Coke since Tuesday night.  (I was going to quit drinking alcohol after the weekend but we had an open bottle of a really delicious Malbec that I wanted to finish up).  I’ve continued to snack liberally on leftover Christmas candy though, so I guess I’m still not ready to start a healthy living blog.  I usually have 3-4 standard servings of alcohol and maybe 2 12 oz cans of Diet Coke per week, so cutting them out for a few days isn’t going to really impact my performance tomorrow aside from forcing me to drink more water.

Onto my plan and goals for tomorrow!

In 2014 I ran this race in 1:38:48.  I would love to run that time (or faster) tomorrow but I’m not sure it’s realistic right now.  Over the past few months I’ve been pretty diligent about track workouts, and I think that really paid off for my recent 5K and 10K races (which were not too far off from my PRs).  I have not been diligent about running half marathon pace miles and have only done 4 or 5 double digit runs since October.  There are a few reasons for this:

  • I swapped out some tempo runs early in the training cycle for 5K/10K pace repeats on the track (or treadmill) because I wanted to avoid running on harder surfaces.
  • I had 2 weeks in December when I barely ran at all due to travel/illness/laziness/etc.
  • I did not want to run too many miles and re-injure myself.  A year ago I was typically running 6 days a week for a total of 40-45 miles and I’d just completed another half marathon in early December.  My highest mileage week this cycle was 32 miles and I’ve typically only run 5 days per week.

And I’m okay with all of this.  I’d like to eventually really try for a PR again (and I have a few goal races tentatively picked out for the spring) but right now I’m just glad I’m not injured.  Aside from taking off the week of Christmas to drink a lot of beer and eat my weight in chocolate, I think I was pretty smart about my training.  Yes, I probably should have had more tempo runs but there’s nothing I can do about that now except remember it the next time I train for a half.

As for my race plan tomorrow?  I’m planning on starting again with the 1:45 pace group, which is an 8:00 min/mile pace.  After the first mile or two I’m hoping to get ahead of them and stick to a 7:45ish pace.  If I feel surprisingly faster than that (which is what happened last year), I’ll let myself speed up a bit on the lengthy downhill portions.  Basically, I’m aiming for a finish in the low 1:40s.  If I can squeak in a sub-1:40 finish, that would be amazing but I’m not going to try for that unless I’m feeling really awesome.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a race recap, including a full rundown of the goodie bag from the expo, which is excellent.  Scotch tape!  Kitchen sponges!  POST ITS!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 3M Half Marathon: Race Prep and Goals

  1. Melissa says:

    Did you have to wait in a hellish line at the Bullock? It was AWFUL when we went yesterday. I hear ya on the not-injured thing. I’m not so lucky so I’m just going to hobble through it best I can. Good luck!

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      No– I went around 11 this morning and had to wait less than 5 minutes. I was worried about finding parking down there but we found a spot on the street about a block away. Good luck to you too! I look forward to reading a recap.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy says:

    Good luck! I know it will be awesome!

    Like

  3. DrHockeyMom says:

    Have a great race! I look forward to reading the recap. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: 2015 3M Half Marathon Race Recap | Rungry

Leave a Reply

