San Diego

Hey look, I finally finished my recap of my time in San Diego!  It only took me over two weeks… 

On Wednesday, 11/5 I hopped on a plane and took my first trip ever to California for two back-to-back work conferences in San Diego.  I had most of the afternoon to do as I pleased before training and dinner in the evening, so I took advantage of the glorious, sunny weather (it was pouring rain in Austin) and answered work emails from my balcony.

Balcony view

Balcony view

I then went on a walk in search of lunch and amusement.  I’d been planning on going to the USS Midway on Saturday since it was closer to the hotel where I’d be staying Thursday and Friday night but I had such a nice time walking around on Wednesday that I ended up there three days ahead of schedule.

The view for most of my walk

The view for most of my walk

The USS Midway Museum is amazing.  It’s a retired massive aircraft carrier that you can wander around (mostly) as you please.  I didn’t do the audio tour because I was slightly pressed for time but I’d like to do it if when I go back.  (I say “when” because I told the Gentleman that we have to visit the Midway together sometime since he’s really into military history and would love this).

View from the flight deck

View from the flight deck

Flight deck

Flight deck

My favorite parts of the Midway were the areas inside.  Everything looks as it was when the carrier was in use.  You can see the chapel, post office, dentist’s office, surgery room…etc.  The website for the museum calls it a “floating city at sea”, and that seems pretty accurate when you think about all of the offices and businesses on the carrier.

Breakfast

Breakfast

Dinner and a movie

Dinner and a movie

My next bit of fun happened on Saturday morning prior to leaving for the airport.  I went for a relaxed 4.8 mile run along the bay, stopping several times to take pictures because I have no idea if I’ll see views like this during a run ever again.

Chillin'

Chillin’

Big boat

Big boat

The next item on my agenda was beer.  I brought two Jet Bags with me to California and went on a mission to find two delicious-looking beers that aren’t available in TX.  I lucked out because my hotel was less than a mile from a place called Best Damn Beer Shop, which was maybe not the best beer shop I’ve been to but it was definitely pretty damn good.  It was very difficult to make a decision but I ended up with the Hangar 24 Gourdgeous (which we had at Friendsgiving and was just okay)  and the Finnriver Pear Cider (I had their black currant cider at a beer event earlier this fall and it was by far my favorite drink of the day, so I have high hopes for this one).

Back in my hotel room

Back in my hotel room

I spent the rest of my free time walking along the bay and checking out Seaport Village, which was cute but definitely touristy.  In retrospect, I wish I’d gone to the zoo or taken the ferry to Coronado but c’est la vie.  I still had a nice time taking in the scenery and hanging out inside an amazing bookstore.

2014-11-08 14.15.51

This place gets me.

This place gets me.

In the interest of making this post somewhat related to running, here are some ways I schedule training into a work trip, with a disclaimer: I only travel for work a few times a year– so I’m hardly an expert on this topic– and I’m usually just attending trainings and don’t have to be preparing slide presentations at 11 PM.  Will Run For Beer has a much better post about this.

  • Just take a rest day(s). I’ve gone on a few trips to Dallas that lasted less than 24 hours.  For a trip like this I sometimes don’t even bother to bring running clothes and decide to sleep in a little.
  • WalkJogRun: This can be very helpful for finding running routes where you’re staying.  Sometimes I’ve stayed at hotels that are right next to the highway or are actually inside an airport.  In these cases I prefer to stick to a fitness center treadmill or take a rest day.  But when I went to San Diego I saw a bunch of running routes right near my hotels, which gave me hope that I’d be able to get outside a little.
  • Talk to hotel staff. The concierge at my first hotel in San Diego pointed me towards a nice area for walking and running.  If I hadn’t gotten some general directions I probably would have headed straight towards the airport and turned around very quickly.  Staff at the hotel can also give advice on areas to avoid.
  • Schedule some speed work. I get bored very, very quickly if I try to run on the treadmill at a steady pace.  So when I went to San Diego and was jetlagged and feeling wide eyed and bushytailed at 3:30 in the morning, I decided that the hotel gym was probably a better setting for pre-dawn running than an unfamiliar city and ended up finishing a tough 5 mile workout before breakfast.
  • Don’t overdo it at the buffets and open bars.  The meetings I go to almost always have buffets for all of the meals and an open bar at dinner.  I generally do not eat super large breakfasts but at a breakfast buffet (especially one that I’m not paying for…) I all of a sudden need to have one of everything.  Since I only go to these things a few times a year, I’m not worried that some extra eggs and muffins (and waffles and bacon and so forth) are going to have much of a longterm impact on my running but it’s also a lot easier to get out of bed super early in the morning for a run if you’re not suffering from a food coma or hangover.  2 glasses of wine is my limit for the night, and I definitely won’t have more than 1 glass during a pre-dinner cocktail hour even though it makes talking to strangers much more enjoyable.

This entry was posted in Fun, Running, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to San Diego

Leave a Reply

