3M Half Marathon training: Week 4

Week 3 of training was great.  Every run felt good, I didn’t feel tired or injured, the weather was brisk and invigorating.  Of course, this meant that I was past due for some less than stellar runs and boy, did last week deliver.

Monday, 11/17: Cross-training/strength work at the gym  4 miles easy outside because longstanding issues with my car battery + colder weather led to my car not starting on Monday morning, so the gym was out of the question.

Tuesday, 11/18: REST

Wednesday, 11/19: Cross-training/strength work at the gym  4 miles easy outside because car issues again.

Thursday, 11/20: REST again due to two back-to-back long ass work days

Friday, 11/21: Planned to do 6 miles with 4 miles at goal half marathon pace (~7:45) on the track or on the road but it was stormy outside so I went to the gym instead.  (Thankfully, my car is working…for now).  I ran an easy mile and then sped up to 7:53 pace but for whatever reason– sleep deprivation?  dehydration?  being out of shape?– I felt horrible from the moment I got on the treadmill.  I threw in the towel after 2 fast miles and found it hard to get through a 0.5 mile cool down.  I ended up with a total of 3.5 miles instead of 6.

Saturday, 11/22:  Once again, it was stormy outside and I had to work all day starting at 7:30 AM, so another treadmill run was in order.  Thank goodness I joined a 24 hour gym.  Do you like being the only person in the gym?  If so, I highly suggest working out at 5:15 AM on a Saturday.  I ended up doing a total of 5 miles with a total of 3 miles around HM pace: 800m @ 10 min pace, 1600m @ 7:53 pace, 800m @ 10 min pace, 3200m @ 7:53 pace, 1600m @ 10 min pace.  I didn’t feel great during this but I also didn’t feel like I was going to pass out like I did on Friday so yay progress! #fitness.

Sunday, 11/23: Arguably my only good run of the week was my “long run” of 8 miles with miles 4 and 5 at half marathon pace.  I got to run outside instead of on the treadmill, the weather was cool and sunny, and I didn’t feel as worn out as I did during my other runs.  The HM pace miles were maybe a little too fast but probably not too far off for 3M given that most of the course is downhill.

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 8.06.58 PMTotal24 miles running

If you don’t follow me on Instagram (which, by the way, you totally should because I post top of the line cat pictures every Caturday) you probably didn’t see that I signed up for another race!  In 3 days I will be toeing the line at the Cedar Park Turkey Day 5K.

I almost signed up for the 5 mile Turkey Trot in Austin but I did that race last year and it is HUGE.  And it is such a pain to get there due to the amount of traffic.  Even though Cedar Park is much further away, I can probably still leave the apartment later in the morning because I won’t be as stressed out about parking.  My goal for the race is simply to put in a hard effort, which will hopefully result in a finish time under 24 minutes.  Mostly I just want to get a sense of what I’m capable of right now and what my target paces should be for my track workouts.

This means I’ll likely be back later this week with a race recap.  SO MUCH BLOG CONTENT, SO LITTLE TIME!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

