3M Half Marathon training: Week 3

Last week I ran 31 miles.  No cross-training– all running.  And I ran on 6/7 days even though I swore a few months ago that I’d swap out some of the easy runs for the elliptical or bike in the interest of not re-injuring myself.  But then the weather was nice and cool and I wasn’t having any pain and 31 miles happened.

Yay?

Monday, 11/10: “Long run” of 7.17 miles that was supposed to happen on Sunday.  Felt nice and easy and decidedly un-long.

Tuesday, 11/11: Easy 4 miles

Wednesday, 11/12: A short but effective 3 miles on the track with 6 x 400m @ 5K pace.  File this under “good workouts for when I have to be at the office extra early”.  I aimed for 7:00 minute pace and was pretty much on target: 1:44, 1:43, 1:46, 1:45, 1:44, 1:45.

Thursday, 11/13: Easy 4 miles on the track.  I’ve been doing a lot of these short, easy runs on the track as a way to take a break from running on the road.  (Also, my wacky work hours mean I’m doing 99% of my running before dawn, so trail running is but a fond memory).  It was cold and windy (for Central Texas) during this run, so it was one of those days when I had a blast of freezing air in my face when I ran up one side of the track and a nice tailwind when I ran down the other side.

Friday, 11/14: Total of 5 miles on the track (again) with 3 x 1600m @ 10K pace.  10K pace in April was 7:15-7:20 and the last time I tried 10K pace miles I was on a treadmill set to 7:35 pace.  I figured I’d be around 7:30-7:45 pace on the track when I didn’t have the treadmill to pull me along but I surprised myself by running closer to my April pace: 7:32, 7:21, 7:25.  I’m not sure I could run a full 6.2 miles at that pace right now but I didn’t feel like death running 1 mile at that pace so maybe I’m making progress?

On Friday night I went to a special screening of Mean Girls + cast meet and greet at the Alamo Drafthouse and DAMIAN TOOK A SELFIE WITH MY PHONE.

Jason "Is your muffin buttered?", Aaron Samuels, and Damian "Too gay to function".  And two starstruck 30 year old women.

Jason “Is your muffin buttered?”, Aaron Samuels, and Damian “Too gay to function”. And two starstruck 30 year old women.

Saturday, 11/15REST! I got home late on Friday due to the Mean Girls shenanigans and then had to be at work quite early on Saturday, so running in the morning was not going to happen.  And then immediately after work the Gentleman and I hightailed it to New Braunfels for WURSTFEST! Wurstfest is a delightful celebration of sausage and beer and fried food and carnival rides and silly hats and everything else that is wonderful.  It was a little rainy and chillier than last year but we still had a nice time at the craft beer biergarten and nibbling on sausage, fried Oreos, and the GIANT PRETZEL.

Sunday, 11/16: “Long run” of 8.18 miles at an easy pace followed by Friendsgiving, i.e. another excuse to eat a lot and drink beer. We made our annual slow cooked sweet potatoes and apples (similar recipe here) and these cupcakes which were super easy to make and tasted phenomenal!  I definitely plan on making them again, possibly even for real Thanksgiving next week.

All in all, last week was a sold week of training, albeit maybe a little too much too soon.  This week I intended to cut back a bit but actually intended up cutting back more than a bit due to being incredibly busy with work.  Stay tuned for a (short) recap of this week’s running…

This entry was posted in Food, Fun, Life, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3M Half Marathon training: Week 3

  1. Pingback: 3M Half Marathon training: Week 4 | Rungry

  2. Pingback: San Diego | Rungry

Leave a Reply

