A month of running

BLOG READERS!  (All two of you!)  WHAT’S UP?!

I know everyone’s dying to know what happened with my appointment with my sports medicine doctor at the end of September.  I’m sorry I left you hanging.  What happened is that he told I could start running without walk breaks.

I know.  So exciting.

So that’s what I’ve been doing for the past month:

Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 9.14.49 AM

 

And it’s been going well so far!  Highlights include 6 miles on Sunday (distance record since the stress fracture in April) and an actual speed workout on Wednesday.  The speed workout was supposed to be 4 x 800m repeats at 5 seconds faster than 5K pace, i.e. around 6:55 for me…if I was still in my top running shape, which I’m very clearly not.  So I modified it to 4 x 800m at “run really hard” pace, which ended up being a little faster than my 10K pace from April.  I definitely have a long way to go before I can comfortably hit that pace again but I’m still calling the workout a victory considering that I wasn’t even sure I’d be able to run anything under 8:00 minute pace.

Screen Shot 2014-10-31 at 9.22.49 AM

Since everything on the running front has been going well, I decided that I’m going to try to run the 3M Half Marathon again in January.  I doubt I can PR again or run sub -1:40 but I think I have a good shot at a sub-1:45.  This week was supposed to be my first week of training but things have already gotten shifted around or reduced because my work schedule has gotten insane again (12 hour workdays, weekend hours, etc).  I’m also going to be out of town for two conferences next week so we’ll also see how training goes then…

I was going to dress up as Daria for Halloween this year but since I have to work super early Saturday morning, plans for Halloween fun got scrapped in favor of food and sleep.  So instead I made Daria Pumpkindorffer.  I’d like to note that I did NOT use a stencil because my printer is broken, so I had to draw her by hand #suchartistry.

IMG_20141030_170321

 

Happy Halloween!

This entry was posted in Injury, Life, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

