Rest Days

This week has been insane!  I had a few projects at work all converge on me at once, which resulted in some long hours at the office Monday through Wednesday.  On top of this, I started a class on Coursera a few weeks ago and while I’m really enjoying the reading and lectures so far, there’s SO MUCH READING!

Less than half of what I'll need to read by December 8th.

Less than half of what I’ll need to read by December 8th.

I was supposed to see the sports medicine doctor this week but my appointment got moved to next Friday because the doctor is sick.  (Get well soon, doctor!)  So I’ve got another week of trying to run and crossing my fingers that I won’t be complaining of pain when I next see the doctor.

So far, so good…!

Given that I’m not training for anything right now, I don’t have much of a workout schedule and am generally taking everything on a day-to-day basis.  I limit the running/”running” to 4 days a week and try to do 2-3 days of strength work, though that has fallen by the wayside this week due to time constraints and my lower back feeling achey (likely from my %#(&$^ office chair).  The rest days generally amount to 1-2 a week, or sometimes 0 if I’m feeling sassy.  And right now they’re generally unplanned, which is kind of weird for me.  Usually I’ll plan them for days when I have a doctor’s appointment before work or if I have to be at the office particularly early or following a particularly hard run or race.  But recently it’s been more of a let’s-see-how-I-feel-when-I-wake-up deal.

As an example, here’s the past week:

Saturday, 9/13: Mile repeats on the track, felt awesome 

Sunday, 9/14: I originally planned to up my treadmill game or do some more track running since the weather was still semi-decent but I just couldn’t motivate myself to do anything.

Monday, 9/15: Did 14.5 miles of intervals on the stationary bike at the gym even though I also went to the office at an ungodly hour.  I think I must thrive on masochism.

Tuesday, 9/16: Alternated 5 mins running @ 6.7 mph with walking @ 4.0 mph on the treadmill for a total of 3.12 miles in 30 minutes.  Also did 15 minutes total on the elliptical for warm-up/cool-down.  Spent the rest of my waking hours working and power-reading.

Wednesday, 9/17: A very lazy 33 minutes on the elliptical.  Fell asleep around 8:00 PM.

Thursday, 9/18: Same as Tuesday, except I refueled with potato chips #health #jerf

Friday, 9/19: Woke up at 5:00 AM feeling uncharacteristically bright eyed and bushy tailed but then I sat down on the couch to write this blog post and lost all interest in the gym.  In my defense, it’s been pouring rain for the past few days and there are flash flood warnings all over town and I’m a really poor swimmer.  (Disregard the fact that I checked online and none of the flood areas are anywhere near me).  Maybe I will feel inspired after work, though historically the only things that inspire me on a Friday afternoon are pajamas and my couch and sometimes a Mexican martini.

It’s far more of an improvised approach than I like to take when I’m actually training for something but I think it’s working for now, especially since I don’t have long runs or key workouts I need to worry about fitting into my schedule.  Here’s hoping I can keep it together for another week so I can have a positive update for the doctor (for once)!

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Injury, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rest Days

  1. Pingback: Reset | Rungry

Leave a Reply

