The Great Outdoors

Since seeing the sports medicine doctor on August 5th I’ve been doing all of my running on the treadmill with walk breaks.  My treadmill running has all been at a 10 min/mile pace and the walking has been at a 15 min/mile pace because the treadmills at my gym have buttons specific to these paces and, at the end of the day, I’m inherently a very lazy person who doesn’t want to do too much button pressing.  Since hitting 30 minutes of 1 min walking/1 min running/lather, rinse, repeat I’ve upped the ante to 30 minutes of 2 mins running/1 min walking (last week) and then 30 minutes of 3 mins running/1 min walking (this week).

Average pace is slooooowly going down.

Average pace is slowly going down…

My plan for this weekend was to go for 5 mins running/1 min walking on the treadmill but then I saw the weather forecast for today:

~*~*FALL*~*~

~*~*FALL*~*~

Such weather is unheard of in September in Central Texas. (And sadly, it doesn’t look like it’s going to stick around yet).  Since my leg is still feeling good and it didn’t feel like the seventh circle of Hell outside, I decided to head to the track and try running at my own speed.  I didn’t go there with a specific plan other than to maintain an easy pace, not run more than 1 mile at a time, and stop running if I felt any pain.  I ended up feeling better than expected and did 3 x 1600m running with 400m walk breaks, plus walking ~0.7 miles each way to and from the track.

First time using my Garmin since June 17th.  I had to charge it for quite awhile because the battery was completely dead #oops.

First time using my Garmin since June 17th. I had to charge it for quite awhile because the battery was completely dead #oops.

The first mile definitely felt easy and made me realize that I can probably run faster on the treadmill without any major disaster.  The second one was faster because there was another runner ahead of me who I wanted to pass.  And then I seemed to settle into that pace and couldn’t slow down on the third mile.  I was a little out of breath but never felt like I was really working hard, which is encouraging after 3 months of barely running.  Maybe I still have a little bit of my speed from April?

My next appointment with the sports medicine doctor is on Tuesday and I’m looking forward to actually having some positive updates for him.  I’m not seeing any speed work in the near future but I’m hoping I can keep increasing my running mileage (and slowly phase out the walking) in time for the 3M Half Marathon in January.

In the meantime, I think this brief spate of “cold” weather we’re having calls for one of our many pumpkin beers

This entry was posted in Injury, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great Outdoors

  1. Pingback: Rest Days | Rungry

Leave a Reply

