Llama Llama Ding Dong

In my last post I promised a recap of a not-so-recent-anymore long weekend involving llamas. What I didn’t know at the time was that my Labor Day weekend would ALSO involve llamas. So get ready for lots of camelids!

I had some vacation time that I had to use up by mid-August so I took Friday the 8th and Monday the 11th off from work. On Thursday night we went to a screening of the Monty Python reunion show which was as delightful as expected and included a bit about llamas at the beginning (!).

The Gentleman also took Friday the 8th off from work, so we decided to take a scenic drive out to Llano. We ate lunch at Cooper’s BBQ, which had some rave reviews online but didn’t really impress us. It was good, but I think my favorite is still Smitty’s in Lockhart.

Our selections. No plates here, just butcher paper!

Our selections. No plates here, just butcher paper!

So. Much. Meat.

So. Much. Meat.

Before we headed home we stopped at a tiny bakery on Main Street and picked up some treats for the rest of the weekend:

Key Lime bars, brownies, peanut butter cookies, white chocolate macadamia cookies

Key Lime bars, brownies, peanut butter cookies, white chocolate macadamia cookies

And then right outside of town, amidst all the cattle ranches, I spotted the llamas.

2014-08-08 14.46.44Just hanging out in the shade on the edge of the property. We actually made a U-turn so we could pull over and get this picture. It’s not every day you see llamas in Central Texas.

Because I’m becoming lousier and lousier at this blogging thing I can’t for the life of me remember what else I did over that weekend but the photos on my phone indicate that some beer and bratwursts were consumed.

Beer and bratwurst at the Draughthouse

Beer and bratwurst at the Draughthouse

2014-08-10 19.07.55-1

Tripel Karmeliet purchased at Costco and consumed at home

So let’s move onto Labor Day weekend, which I actually remember because a) it wasn’t a month ago and b) it included my 30th birthday. Like everyone my age, I spent my 30th birthday at a petting zoo.

The petting zoo was one of the many attractions at Westfest, which is an annual Czech festival in the town of West, TX about 1.5-2 hours north of Austin. (West is also known for the 2013 fertilizer plant explosion.)  We expected it to be like Wurstfest but Czech which…it basically was, though at Wurstfest we drank a lot more beer and spent a lot more time in the sun. It is way, way, WAY too hot to do that at the end of August in Central Texas. Instead, we had some lunch, walked around a bit, and then spent most of our time watching the various dance groups in the amphitheater where it was slightly cooler.

On our way back to Austin we stopped at Czech Stop to pick up some kolaches and other assorted treats. I meant to take a picture of everything but as usual I forgot and now everything is long gone. So you will have to use your imagination to picture the heavenly lemon cream and pumpkin pastries I enjoyed last week.

We had one last adventure on my birthday: a showing of the Hedwig and the Angry Inch movie at the Alamo Drafthouse followed by a performance by a Hedwig tribute band.

Oh my God.

I’ve been obsessed with this movie since high school. It kills me– KILLS ME– that I live so far away from NYC right now and can’t see the Broadway show. But seeing it on the big screen– on my birthday!–and then listening to the music all over again performed by a live band who sounded EXACTLY like John Cameron Mitchell and company was pretty amazing. Even the Gentleman loved it and he was very skeptical about the whole thing because he hates musicals. So haven’t seen the movie or the show, go see it. YOU MUST.

After the movie I ate an enormous and delicious red velvet cupcake from Czech Stop and then passed out and slept for 9 or 10 hours. It was an exhausting but very fun day.

Coming later this week (I promise): an actual running post. Spoiler: I am running more and my leg doesn’t hate me, yay!

This entry was posted in Food, Fun, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Llama Llama Ding Dong

  1. Alyssa says:

    I LOVE LLAMAS. For real, they are the only animal I like at all. I got to visit some and walk on two years ago and it was the highlight of my life. That first box of treats would have lasted us…. not even until the next morning.

    Like

  2. emily says:

    you clearly need to come visit NYC to see hedwig! I saw it with NPH and it blew my pants off.

    Like

Leave a Reply

