Update on Running (One minute at a time)

Goodness…what was going on the last time I posted here? Ah yes– I got the OK from the sports medicine doc to run again (one minute at a time)! My appointment was on 8/5 but I didn’t actually attempt any running until 8/8 because I came down with a nasty cold. I started off with 10 minutes of alternating 1 minute walking at 15:00 min/mile pace with 1 minute jogging at 10:00 min/mile pace. Since then I’ve been slowly increasing the total amount of time I’m on the treadmill while still sticking with 1 minute walking/1 minute jogging intervals:

Profeshunal graphical representation of my progress

Profeshunal graphical representation of my progress

Is it mind numbingly boring? At times, yes. I generally don’t like running on the treadmill, period. But I need to stay away from harder surfaces like pavement for now. Also, these jogging/walking  session don’t really feel like a workout, so my routine on my “running” days has also included some harder work on the elliptical or bike before and after the treadmill. Sometimes I miss running on the road but when it’s summer in Texas and the outdoor temperatures look like this, suddenly the treadmill doesn’t seem so bad.

Do I want to run faster/longer? Absolutely. My boss (who is also a runner) asked me about my recovery progress yesterday and seemed surprised that I was still only running for one minute at a time (and at much a slower pace than I was running back in April). I am very tempted sometimes to run for more than a minute or to bump up the speed on the treadmill. But with zero races on my calendar right now and the painful memories of what happened when I tried to rush back into training in June, I am comfortable with being very conservative right now. Especially because…

I HAVE NOT HAD ANY PAIN. That’s right. I have been absolutely, 100% pain free since I hopped back on the treadmill 3 weeks ago. The last time I ran without pain was probably the end of March. It’s awesome to be able to run comfortably again, and I don’t want to jeopardize my current pain-free streak.

So, what’s next? I should hit 30 minutes of jogging/walking this Sunday, which is also my 30th birthday(!). On my 25th birthday I ran 25 km/15.6 miles while training for my first half marathon. Earlier this year I thought I could try for 30 km on my 30th but obviously that’s not happening. Next week I am going to try some 2:1 jogging:walking sets and maybe head to the track one day. I probably won’t be doing actual speed work for quite awhile but it would be nice to run at a more natural pace than just sticking to the 10:00 min/mile I’ve been doing on the treadmill.

That’s it for running. I’ll update soon on other adventures, including a recent long weekend of Monty Python and llamas and barbecue. Hopefully I will get that done while I’m still in the twilight of my 20s! 48 hours left…

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Injury, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on Running (One minute at a time)

  1. Alyssa says:

    Woo hoo for pain free running, even the boring and slow variety! I’m sure it’s frustrating but it sounds like it’s moving in the right direction. Sometimes focusing on intervals makes the treadmill time go faster? A sad attempt to focus on the positive. I ran 30 miles on my 30th and 31 minutes (slooooow with many walk breaks interspersed) on my 31st, not exactly the same but it was still exciting at the time! Happy late birthday and welcome to the 30s! I was nervous but they’ve been awesome so far, I don’t miss the 20s a bit.

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      Yeah, the intervals are the only way I can make the treadmill tolerable. I’ve attempted to do easy runs on a treadmill due to blizzards (when I was still living in the Northeast) or while traveling and even on those I have to change the speed a little every now and then just to keep things remotely interesting.

      Thanks for the birthday wishes. My 30s have been quite good so far!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Llama Llama Ding Dong | Rungry

Leave a Reply

