I CAN RUN AGAIN

But only for one minute at a time.

I saw the sports medicine doctor today to follow-up on my MRI from way back at the end of June.  I finally got the official MRI report, which contains the following scintillating information:

FINDINGS: A marker is placed at the area of concern.  The marker is noted at the mid tibia.  At the level of the marker there is quite severe abnormal bone marrow edema within the intramedullary canal of the tibia.  This degree of bone marrow edema is an early stress fracture.

The fibula has normal signal.  The muscles of the lower leg are normal without muscle tear nor hematoma.

IMPRESSION: Quite focal bone marrow edema within the midshaft tibia involving the intramedullary canal.  This is at the area of the patient’s skin marker.  This degree of marrow edema is an early stress fracture.

When I showed this to the Gentleman he freaked out over the “quite severe abnormal bone marrow edema”.  It sounds very scary but it’s actually just a normal response to a fracture.  The “early stress fracture” part was more of interest to me because “early” means that the fracture didn’t go through my entire bone.  Good news!

I’m back on the Try Running A Little Bit Unless You Have Pain In Which Case You Should Stop Running plan for now.  This is also good news, though my enthusiasm this time around is tempered by the following:

  • Things didn’t go so well the last time I tried to run (though I have an additional 5-6 weeks without high impact activities under my belt now)
  • I am not signed up for any races, which is probably good because it means I’m less likely to do something stupid but I also miss having something help me focus my training. The Philly Marathon isn’t happening. There was a 48-hour period when I thought I might be able to do the Austin Distance Challenge again when the first race in the series (IBM Uptown Classic in early October) was cancelled, but then they replaced it with an 8K scheduled for September 14th.  So that’s definitely not happening either.
  • I’ve been feeling lousy all day because I’m allergic to all of the plant life in Central Texas.  All I want to do right now is take Sudafed and sleep for 12 hours.  Getting up at 5 AM to run on the treadmill for 1 minute at a time sounds like a terrible idea.

What *is* this thing?

Speaking of the gym, my time there over the past month or so has been primarily split between the elliptical and the bike.  I find both of them to be quite boring, so I told myself that I could only watch season 2 of Orange Is The New Black if I watched it on my phone at the gym. That worked for awhile but now I only have 1 episode left, so I need a new motivation.

I’ve also…*drumroll, please*…been doing some strength training.  Like, with weights.  I KNOW.

I could still stand to add more volume and variety but it’s better than nothing, right?  The Gentleman pointed me in the direction of some helpful beginner information on the web (such as here and here). And I’ve found that I actually enjoy doing these and these, though maybe my brain is just excited to do something besides the bike or the elliptical.  Sadly, the Gentleman says I am unlikely to get super ripped unless I take drugs or cut back on my ice cream intake.

Are there any other shows on Netflix right now that I have to see? I’ve already seen all of House of Cards (US version) and I promised the Gentleman I’d watch the UK version with him, so that’s not in the cards SEE WHAT I DID THERE?!

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Injury, Running, Strength Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I CAN RUN AGAIN

  1. Alyssa says:

    Woo hoo! Hopefully you will continue to have no pain while running! I do the same thing with “saving” shows for the treadmill – I’ve been watching Buffy since I got it a year and a half ago – but it’s motivated me more than once when I didn’t feel like running, so it works! I just finished season 2 of OITNB and can’t seem to get into any other shows so that makes me sad.

    Like

  2. amandabroughton says:

    Oh man, I love the excitement! I have done 1/6 months of my recovery and I will be shouting and CAPSLOCKING when I finally lace up my shoes 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Update on Running (One minute at a time) | Rungry

Leave a Reply

