May 19th-25th “Training”: Building Mileage

Last week marked my third week back to running and my first post-injury runs that didn’t involve walk breaks.

Screenshot from Daily Mile

Weekly running mileage screenshot from Daily Mile

I did a total of 10 miles running/walking, 17 miles cycling, and 15 miles elliptical (42 miles in all).

Monday, 5/19: 3.81 miles easy on the elliptical. We spent Sunday night at a friend’s house sampling beer. We didn’t home until after 10 (which is past my bedtime because I’m lame), had dinner around 10:30, and then I tossed and turned all night. I wasn’t planning on going to the gym that morning but I couldn’t sleep and figured that 24-hour access gyms exist for insomniacs. Needless to say, this was a crappy workout, and I felt hungover all morning. At least I remembered to do some ab work!

Tuesday, 5/20: 15 minutes easy on the elliptical followed by 1600m running @ 6.6 mph, 800m walking @ 4.0 mph, 1600m running @ 7.5 mph on the treadmill. Cooled down with another 15 minutes on the elliptical. The 8 minute mile on the treadmill had me a little out of breath but it definitely didn’t feel hard. Yay?

Wednesday, 5/21: AM was 6.1 miles easy on the elliptical, PM was 5 miles easy cycling outside with the Gentleman. Someday soon I’ll use the gears correctly and be able to make it up a hill.

Thursday, 5/22: 12 miles on the bike at the gym with 3 x 2 miles @ hard effort. I have no idea what is a respectable pace on the bike but I suspect I’m very slow.

Friday, 5/23: Treadmill workout: 0.5 miles @ 4.0 mph, 2.0 miles @ 6.6 mph, 0.5 miles @ 4.0 mph.

Saturday, 5/24: We were in Houston Saturday to Sunday (travel recap to come) and I really wanted to get in another run before we left. So I took a chance and ran 2 days in a row. I did 3 miles on the track, starting off easy (8:22) and then unintentionally speeding up (8:05 and 7:51). 3 miles is the furthest I’ve run without a walk break since my injury and it felt awesome in spite of the boringness of running on a track.

Sunday, 5/25: 1.5 miles on the squeaky elliptical at our hotel. And then the Gentleman showed me how to do a lat pulldown.

Not a lat pulldown

Random thoughts:

  • It was a good week running wise. I’m going to try to stick with an every-other-day running plan and inch my way to 20-25 miles per week by the end of June. I’m also going to try to increase my long runs by a mile easy week. I’m still sticking to running on the treadmill, track, or trail but eventually I’m going to need to proverbially dip my toe in the water and see how I feel on the road.
  • My attempt to do some regular strength training didn’t exactly pan out but it’s the thought that counts, right?

Only 8 days until season 2!!!

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Injury, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 19th-25th “Training”: Building Mileage

  1. Nice runs! Must feel great to not have to take walk breaks.

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      Absolutely! Just hope I can do a little more on the road soon. I’m getting bored of the track and treadmill and it’s too dark to run on the trail before work :-/

      Like

Leave a Reply

