May 12th-18th “Training”

“Training” is still in quotes since my 99% of my focus right now is on injury recovery. While it’s true that I killed some time last week looking at marathon training plans, I’m still trying to take everything day by day. I’m also sticking to an every other day running schedule for the next month or so. I think that worked out nicely last week.

Monday: 3.96 miles easy on the elliptical

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 10 minutes running on the treadmill at 9:05 pace (1.1 miles total) plus 20 minute “warm-up” and 20 minute “cool-down” on the elliptical (4.47 miles total).

Thursday: I did the same workout on the bike that I did last week: 2 miles easy followed by 3 x 2 miles @ hard effort with 1 mile recovery and 2 mile cool down for a total of 12 miles. It felt harder this time but I also knocked about a minute off my previous time. Yay progress?

Friday: 2 miles on the treadmill alternating 400m walking @ 4.0 mph with running @ 6.6 mph followed by 2.19 miles on the elliptical.

Saturday: This was supposed to be another bike day at the gym but I woke up feeling kind of crummy and ended up spending most of the day on the couch re-watching season 1 of Orange is the New Black (season 2 starts on June 6th, yo).

Sunday: Walked to/from the track where I did 2 miles of running the straights and walking the curves (3.36 miles total). I unintentionally got faster on the running portions. Per my Garmin, the last few were around 7:00 min/mile pace instead of easy pace. Oops. I guess I’m just too used to running hard on the track.

Total: 29(ish) miles (6 running/walking, 12 cycling, 11 elliptical)

—–

Random thoughts:

  1. I really need to start doing some sort of strength training. It can be hard to fit this in when work is really busy and I’m trying to train for a race but I definitely have time now to do some crunches, push ups, and (attempted) pull ups. And I also need to make sure I stretch after all of my workouts, even the non-running ones. These observations are courtesy of these two Texas Running Post articles and the comments on my blog.
  2. I haven’t really been trying to adhere to the 10% rule when increasing my running mileage but I think that’s okay as long as I keep making very small increases and only run on alternate days for now.
  3. My ratio of beer to water consumption this weekend was definitely not optimal. Beer is delicious and I don’t plan on giving it up anytime soon but I need more balance.
  4. Speaking of balance, I’ve been wide awake since 3 AM for no particular reason. I’m sure I’m going to be feel awesome at work this afternoon. Good thing the Gentleman found some old Starbucks gift cards while cleaning the apartment this weekend! (But I promise I will also drink lots of H2O. See point 3.)
This entry was posted in Cross Training, Health, Injury, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 12th-18th “Training”

  1. kilax says:

    Woo hoo! Three runs this week!

    Good luck with the strength training! I look forward to reading what you decide to do! 🙂

    (and I hope you aren’t dragging today from that early wakeup!)

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      Yesterday morning was rough but I felt OK by the afternoon. I think it was a combination of lack of sleep and sampling too many strong beers on Sunday night…

      Will definitely report back on the strength training!

      Like

  2. Pingback: May 19th-25th “Training”: Building Mileage | Rungry

Leave a Reply

