“Training” and Turnips

I’ve been busier than expected over the past few days, so this post is going up mid-week instead of on Monday as I’d planned. One of the reasons for my busyness is an impending lateral move at work. I haven’t started the new job yet but I’m looking forward to the change. Among other things, this work will generally involve a stable 9-5:30 schedule. My schedule’s like that most days right now but I have to be in the office at 7:30 a few days per month and shortly before I started blogging I went through a 2 month stretch of working 7 days a week. Sometimes I had to be at the office at 4:30 AM one day and then stay until 12:30 AM a few days later. In the midst of all of this I was training for the 3M Half Marathon and the Austin Half Marathon! Did this lack of rest contribute to my stress fracture? Possibly, though I think a rapid increase in speed work leading up to the Capitol 10K was the main culprit.

In any case, stable work hours certainly won’t hurt as I slooooowly return to running. If all goes well, I will start marathon training on June 30th (20 weeks out from the Philadelphia Marathon).

Here is last week’s “training”:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 1 mile run/walk @ average 12:44 pace with some discomfort. Warm up and cool down on the elliptical totaling 3.8 miles. Also drowned my sorrows in wine.

Wednesday: Approximately 6.5 miles on my road bike with the Gentleman at an epically slow pace because I still don’t understand how to change gears.

Thursday: I improvised an interval workout on the stationary bike at the gym. 2 miles easy followed by 3 x 2 miles @ “hard-ish” effort with 1 mile recovery and 2 mile cool down for a total of 12 miles. I was so sweaty when I was done. Success?

Friday: 4.13 miles easy elliptical

Saturday: Drove to the track and ran 1 slow, easy mile @ 9:05 pace WITHOUT PAIN.

Followed up my run with 3.48 miles easy on the elliptical.

Sunday: 3.46 miles easy on the elliptical followed by 9.02 miles “hard-ish” on the stationary bike

Total44 miles (2 running, 28 bike, 14 elliptical)

This week is shaping up to be more of the same except I’m planning on 3 days of running and I might run 1 and a half miles on one day.

When I decided to start blogging I thought I’d write about running and cooking (hence the “Rungry” title). But then I couldn’t do any running. And then I also realized that 99% of what I cook is based off of recipes I find on other blogs, so writing about my cooking seems like a big waste of time when I can just insert some links.

The Gentleman and I are participating in the Farm to Work program. It’s basically like a standard CSA except we’re doing it through the Gentleman’s employer and we only sign up on a weekly basis. This is really nice because we can skip a week or two if we’ll be out of town or are still work our way through last week’s veggies. As with all of these programs (or at least all of the ones I’ve tried), it seems like each haul has some sort of weird produce that we don’t know what to do with. Last year we got a big batch of persimmons  that eventually ended up in cookies and then partially ended up in the Feline’s stomach after he knocked all of them off the kitchen counter while we were at work. Our most recent haul had four massive turnips. Turnips may not be that weird to most people but I’d never cooked them before and had no idea what to do with them. I scoured Google and some of my favorite recipe sites and decided to add them to a few slow cooker recipes. Since they don’t have a strong flavor and aren’t as starchy as potatoes, I felt like they were a nice, innocuous addition. Here are the recipes we modified:

Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore from Skinnytaste. We’d made this before and it was just as good the second or third time around with the turnips.

Crock Pot Pasta Fagioli from A Year of Slow Cooking. We only made 1/2 the recipe so we wouldn’t be eating leftovers for a whole week!

Slow Cooker Chickpea Stew with Apricots. This was sweet and lemony. I liked it more than the Gentleman– he does not share my affinity for things that are sweet and lemony–so I ended up using the leftovers for my lunches.

2014-05-10 12.59.38

 

Any turnip recipes to share? Advice on how to return to running while avoiding further destruction to my left shin? 

This entry was posted in Cross Training, Food, Injury, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Training” and Turnips

  1. kilax says:

    Hi, new commenter! Just clicked over from a comment you left on Nurse on the Run’s blog.

    That is fantastic you got in a pain free mile!!! I hope you continue to recover at a speedy rate! I have actually had stress fractures in my shins twice. You are doing it right – easy on the running, lots of cross training, and… through some strength training in. I haven’t had any injuries (beyond my own clumsiness!) since I started strength training (and got the right kind of shoes). My doctor also gave me Calcotonin (sp?) to stop my bones from shedding calcium. Good luck!

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      Thanks for the comment! I really do need to start some sort of a strength training routine because everything I read indicates that it’s crucial for injury prevention and recovery. Any suggestions on where to start?

      Like

      • kilax says:

        Do you think you would like to strength train by yourself at the gym or home, or with a group? If you are going to do it at home, I always think Jillian Michael Michaels’ The 30 Day Shred is a great place to start. Or if you are on the own in your gym, just getting started with lunges, squats, planks, push-ups and crunches would be good! My favorite way to do strength is with a small group though (I teach classes of up to 8 people 2x a week and that is when I get it in! 🙂 ).

        Like

  2. Rungry says:

    A DVD wouldn’t be a bad idea but I think I may start with the basics (lunges, crunches, etc.) as they’re easy to do anywhere. We have a pull up bar that my boyfriend installed but um, I’m not able to do a full pull up. I guess you gotta start somewhere…?

    Like

  3. Pingback: May 12th-18th “Training” | Rungry

Leave a Reply

