A day at the races

The Gentleman and I watched some races today. I’m still relegated to spectating due to my stress fracture, but I couldn’t have run in these races even if I’d been in peak form. Because in order to run in these races, I would have to be a certified 100% purebred Dachshund.

 This was our third year attending the Buda Wiener Dog Races, and we’ve had a lot of fun every time. Everything takes place in a park in Buda, and in addition to the races they have a bunch of vendors selling paraphernalia for dogs (and body wraps…WTF?!), a moon bounce for kids, and a bunch of food carts. I’ve never been to a greyhound race but I know they can be pretty serious gambling venues (and can involve pretty serious animal welfare issues). As far as I know there’s no gambling at the Wiener Dog Races, though there are a lot of hot dogs and dachshunds dressed in silly outfits and  (and dachshunds dressed as hot dogs).

I always feel a little bad eating one of these in the presence of wiener dogs.

Wiener dog racing basically involves loading the dogs into little wooden cages (not unlike missiles) while their owners/handlers stand at the other end of a very short track waving around like maniacs with the dogs’ favorite squeaky toys. The actual racing lasts approximately five seconds. Here’s a video I took of the final race:

The Gentleman was very, very amused by the fact that there was a dachshund named Oliver Reed running against a dachshund named Tequila. I didn’t get it until I read the Wikipedia page on Oliver Reed and now I too am very, very amused.

Although we aren’t dachshund owners (or owners of any type of dog– apartment living, erratic work hours, and a neurotic cat would make that hard right now), I stepped up my game prior to the races with some dachshund apparel:

2014-04-27 12.56.38

Gold Medal Wiener Dog Socks (or, as I like to call them, dogs in Cosby sweaters)

Always Root for the Underdog shirt  (locally printed in Austin, TX!)

It was a very fun and silly day. My only regrets are that I wore jeans (it was over 90 degrees outside– definitely shorts weather!) and that I yet again forgot about sunscreen. I don’t think we were there long enough for me to get burned but still…I have to remember sunscreen, especially if (fingers crossed) I’ll be doing some running outside again this spring!

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A day at the races

  1. Melissa says:

    I’ve been dying to see the Wiener Dog Races since I moved to TX but we always seem to have something going on that weekend! Someday…

    Just discovered your blog via the comment section on Susan Runs. I’m originally from NJ but now live in Austin – also a runner! (although not quite as speedy as you) And oddly enough, I lived for 7 years in the Ft. Lauderdale area, pretty much where you just were recently.

    Sorry to hear about the stress fracture. Wishing you a speedy recovery and hope you will be able to rock the Philly Marathon come fall!

    Like

    • Rungry says:

      How funny, I’m an Austin transplant from the Philly area! We had a great time in Florida– hopefully we’ll make it out there again in the not-so-distant future. I perused your blog a bit and it looks like we both ran the 2013 IBM Uptown Classic :-). Do you have any other upcoming races? I was originally going to do the Chuy’s 5K this weekend but the stress fracture means that’s not gonna happen :-(.

      Like

      • Melissa says:

        Sory about Chuy’s 😦 I didn’t realize it was this weekend (and the last one, ever) and we’ve already committed to other plans! Bummer.

        I’m running a few relay races (Ragnar Cape Cod, Hood to Coast, and Ragnar Hill Country Trail) but no official road races until the end of the year. The plan is to use the BCS Half in December as a goal race (my PR needs some serious dusting off) and then run the Houston Marathon in January.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Houston | Rungry

  3. Pingback: Books of 2016 (Q2) | Rungry

Leave a Reply

