2014 Austin 10/20 Race Recap

Short version: I set a new 10 mile PR (1:17:07, 7:43 pace).

Long version: I didn’t race smart, so I can’t help but be a bit disappointed because I think I could have done better.

Expo

The Gentleman and I swung by the expo on Friday night around 6:40, i.e. 20 minutes before it closed for the day. I was kind of shocked at how empty it was. We’d assumed a lot of other people would be there after work but…no. I got my bib (#1355, with the 1 signifying first corral…yay?) and shirt and we were out of there in less than 5 minutes. The Gentleman is not a runner but I’ve dragged him to a number of expos with the promise of lunch or dinner afterwards. He said that this expo seemed a little sad, and I have to agree.

The highlights from the goodie bag. The Advil may come in handy during a stressful workday. The rest of the freebies were flyers for random races in faraway cities (e.g. McAllen Marathon). Yeah...no.

The highlights from the goodie bag. The Advil may come in handy during a stressful workday. The rest of the freebies were flyers for random races in faraway cities (e.g. McAllen Marathon). Yeah…no.

 

The race shirt's a little crazy looking but I appreciate that a) there were women's sizes, b) it's not 100% cotton, and c) it's a v-neck.

The race shirt’s a little crazy looking but I appreciate that a) there were women’s sizes, b) it’s not 100% cotton, and c) it’s a v-neck.

Pre-race

Last night I had my usual Thundercloud veggie delite + tortilla chips. Sleep was awful, not because of pre-race jitters but due to 1) texts from work around 11 PM and 2) the Feline deciding he needed to be fed at 4 AM. My refusal to give in meant he was whining pretty much non-stop until my alarm went off at 5:30.

I had some coffee plus 1/2 whole wheat bagel with 1/2 banana and peanut butter. I definitely could have used more coffee but skipped it in the interest of avoiding stomach distress during the race…

Travel to the race was easy (straight up Mo-Pac, no traffic) but there was some congestion by The Domain due to all of the people trying to park. I ended up at least 3/4 mile from the race start; thankfully, I still had plenty of time to find a Port a Potty and warm up for ~1/2 mile.

Race

The race bills itself as flat and fast, and while that’s generally true, there are still some definite gradual uphills (ahem, mile 9). I decided to just take it mile by mile and keep my pace between 7:30 and 7:45. It was a good idea in theory but the execution was poor:

Miles 1 and 6 were definitely too fast, and I think pushing too hard there is what caused me to fall apart a bit towards the end. Mile 9 had a gradual uphill–as did mile 10 right near the finish–but I could have kept them closer to 7:45 if I’d done a better job with the pacing earlier in the race. The second 5 miles were about a minute slower than the first 5 miles.

So yes, it’s a PR, but I don’t think it was my best work in terms of executing a racing strategy. On the other hand, 2 PRs in as many weeks isn’t too shabby. I’m pleased I was able to pull that off.

The race today brought me to 32 miles for the week:

Monday: Rest (sick)

Tuesday: Rest (still sick-ish)

Wednesday: 4 miles easy

Thursday: 6 miles total with 4 mile tempo @ 10 mile pace (7:39)

Friday: 6 miles easy

Saturday: 5 miles easy

Sunday: 10 mile race + warm-up and cool-down

As for next week: I have no idea. I will probably do a short easy run tomorrow and maybe a yoga class at some point early in the week. It’s tricky to plan a training schedule because we’ll be on vacation in Florida Thursday-Monday. I.can’t.wait.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2014 Austin 10/20 Race Recap

  1. Pingback: Reflections on not running | Rungry

  2. Pingback: Workouts, recently | Rungry

  3. Pingback: Not Quite Back on Track (Yet) | Rungry

  4. Pingback: Cedar Park Turkey Day 5K Recap | Rungry

  5. Pingback: What’s Next | Rungry

  6. Pingback: 2015 Run Free Texas 80s 8K | Rungry

  7. Pingback: 2015 Run For The Water Race Recap | Rungry

  8. Pingback: Coming Up Next | Rungry

  9. Pingback: A Very General Running Update | Rungry

  10. Pingback: Austin 10/20: Last Week of Training + Race Plans | Rungry

Leave a Reply

