Improvisation

Hey, remember that training schedule I put together for this week? Yeah, that hasn’t worked out. And really, when do my schedules actually go 100% according to plan? I have no idea. Generally, as long as I hit key workouts and long runs, I consider the week a success. And balancing work, sleep, and hangovers life can make that “success” pretty elusive.

So I ended up  taking Monday and Tuesday off due to not feeling well. I started to feel queasy on Sunday night and then felt worse on Monday. Since work was slow on Monday I left early and went home and took a long nap. I’m not completely sure why I felt so tired and…blah. While I ran hard on Sunday, I definitely didn’t have the DOMS I’ve gotten from longer races. Maybe it was all the exchanging of germs at the race (ew).

At any rate, I mustered up the energy for an easy 4 miles before work on Wednesday and then ran a 4 mile tempo at ~10 mile effort this morning (6 miles total including warm-up and cool-down). I ran at the track, which isn’t my usual venue for tempo runs–usually I stick to the roads so I can get some elevation changes–but the race course on Sunday is super flat and I wanted to listen to cheesy dance music. I only let myself listen to my cheesy dance music if I’m doing a track workout or if I’m running hard on street during the daytime. This was a track workout in the dark, so the cheesy dance music was warranted.

Isn't my iPod case cute?! The reviews on Amazon are all about how people's 6 year old grandchildren love this case which LOOK I AM ALMOST 30 AND IT'S OKAY FOR ME TO LOVE HIM TOO.

Isn’t my iPod case cute?! The reviews on Amazon are all about how people’s 6 year old grandchildren love this case which LOOK I AM ALMOST 30 AND IT’S OKAY FOR ME TO LOVE HIM TOO.

When I signed up for this race I said my estimated finish time was 1:15:00 (7:30 pace), which I think was a little too ambitious. I finished my 4 miles today in 30:37 (7:39 pace) and felt like I’d been working pretty hard, so I think aiming closer to 1:17-1:18 is more reasonable for Sunday. I’m in better shape now than I was when I ran my current PR of 1:19:02 on a tougher course, so I should be able to at least set a new PR on Sunday. Fingers crossed!

I’ve been making an effort (albeit a small one) to eat more vegetables recently. On Monday morning before work the Gentleman and I threw together this vegetable and chickpea curry slow cooker recipe and it’s a definite winner. We ate it over rice for several nights and I had the last bit of leftovers for lunch today. I rarely run in the afternoon or evening (more on that in another post, perhaps) but I bet this would be a good pre-run meal.

Artful composition courtesy of my desk at work

Artful composition courtesy of my desk at work

Also a winner: the Clif Bar in the new Sierra Trail Mix flavor that I picked up last week at Whole Foods. Hopefully this will become as ubiquitous as the Chocolate Chip flavor (which is not a winner in my book– I think it has a weird artificial coconut flavor).

After work today I finally sat down to do my taxes. It’s a good thing I cracked open a beer because I was unpleasantly surprised by the amount of money I may owe…

Last of the Christmas ales

Last of the Christmas ales

Finally, I leave you with this photo from my 10K on Sunday. The humidity may have made my hair a poofy mess but I’m amused by how the photographer captured me when I wasn’t touching the ground. I’M FLYING, JACK!

Please don't sue me.

Please don’t sue me.

This entry was posted in Food, Gear, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

